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Form Summary 

 

Name of Form:   Findings on Confinement of Juvenile Defendant  

Charged as an Adult  
 

Form Number:   CR-219 

 

Statutory Reference:   34 U.S.C. 11133(a)(11)(B) 

 

Benchbook Reference:   

 

Purpose of Form: To document required findings when a juvenile defendant 

under the age of 17 is held in adult jail. 

 

Who Completes It: Court. 

 

Distribution of Form: Juvenile defendant and counsel, prosecutor, victim, adult 

jail/detention center. 

 

Accompanying Forms: None. 

 

New Form/Modification: Modification.  Last update 02/23. 

 

Modification: Added #1 and #2. b. in findings; modified findings in #5 to 

mirror statute, and updated title of form.   

 

Comments: Juveniles under the age of 17 may not be held in adult jail 

or confined in any institution in which they have sight and 

sound contact with adult inmates for longer than six hours, 

unless the court makes several specific findings on the 

record. Sight and sound contact is defined as “any physical, 

clear visual, or verbal contact that is not brief and 

inadvertent.” 34 U.S.C. § 11103(25). These findings must 

be reviewed every 30 days, and the juvenile cannot be held 

for longer than 180 days unless additional findings are 

made.  

 

About this Form: This form is the product of the Wisconsin Records 

Management Committee, a committee of the Director of 

State Court’s Office and a mandate of the Wisconsin 

Judicial Conference. 

 

 If you have additional information that does not change 

the meaning of the form, attach it on a separate page.  

The form itself shall not be altered. 

 


