M emomndum SUPREME COURT OF WISCONSIN

OFFICE OF LAWYER REGULATION
110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 315, MADISON, W1 53703-3383
(60§) 267-7274  TOLLFREE (877)315-6941

DATE: December 6, 2013

TO: | Clerk of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals
ATTN: Cayrie Janto

3
FROM: Director, OW&\%&G{‘ Regulation

SUBJECT: Rule Petition 13-11: Response to Request for Information

On November 11, 2013, Commissioner Julie Rich requested information regarding Rule Petition 13-11,
Petition to Amend Rule 10.03(4)(b)2 Relating Pro Hac Vice Applications. This response is submitted
with the approval of the Board of Administrative Oversight. Enclosed please find a chart from the ABA
Center for Professional Responsibility with updated state by state information regarding pro hac vice fees.
Recently, Illinois established a fee of $250, Also, a few years ago, Michigan changed its fee from §135
per year for up to 5 admissions to $125 per admission.

OLR responds to the information requests as follows.

How manv pro hac vice applications have been filed since the fee and application
requirement commenced?

From the inception of the requirement on January 1, 2009, to November 18, 2013, OLR received 4,085
filings.

Describe the administrative expenses that warrant a fee increase,

The present fee [$50.00] is adequate to cover OLR’s administrative expenses.

OLR receives and maintains copies of the pro hac vice application forms. The office manager contacts
applicants to correct errors or omissions in submissions, records application information, files
applications, processes checks, and responds to an average of ten calls from applicants and other persons

per week., The time required to perform these tasks takes an average of 2 to 3 hours per week. The
director responds to questions from applicants, associated local counsel, and courts regarding filing status
and rule compliance. The director receives a few calls per month and spends less than an hour a month
responding to questions regarding pro hac vice rule compliance.

In addition, the court in which the application is filed must receive, approve, and file each request. OLR
does not know the amount of time and expense required of the courts.

Should the form application for admission pro hae vice located in Appendix A to SCR ch. 10 be
amended to add the “Wisconsin Supreme Court” in paragraph (7)?

Yes. Pro ha¢ vice admission may involve matters before the Wisconsin Supreme Court; therefore, an
acknowledgement and agreement to abide by Wisconsin Supreme Court rules is appropriate and
-advisable.



Does the OLR perceive lawvers misusing pro hac vice admission? If so, how would the
proposed fee increase correct the sitnation? ‘

No. During the first four years [2009 through 20127 over 80% of the lawyers filed only once. Only 12%
filed twice. Less than 1% filed more than 6 times in the four-year period.

Can an aftornev on inactive status in Wisconsin, who is licensed. in good standing, and
actively practicing law in another state. seek admission pro hac vice in Wisconsin?

This question appears to be undecided. Supreme Court Rule 10.03(4)(b) provides that “[a] court or judge
in this state may allow a nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or proceeding
in association with an active member of the state bar of Wisconsin who appears and participates in the
action or proceeding.” [Emphasis added.] It would be helpful to clarify whether “nonresident counsel”
should include attorneys licensed in Wisconsin but not residing in Wisconsin. OLR takes no position on
the substantive question.

The court is also considering revisions fo the “Q & A” document located at
hitp:/lwww.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/prohacvice.htm.  In particular, the court is
advised that the following updates to the pro hac vice “Q & A” may facilitate the use and
administration of the rule. Please comment on the following proposed guestions and
answers and provide other suggestions that may improve the document.

OLR agrees with the proposed questions and answers, except as provided in the following
specific comments to the questions in Commissioner Rich’s memorandum.

Regarding question 3, OLR recommends amending the last sentence of the answer to read, “The
OLR will return the duplicate application file stamped with the date the application and payment
was received.”

Regarding question 4, OLR recommends that the certification be in the form of a statement
signed by the applicant, and that the certification be filed with OLR and the court in which
admission is sought.

Regarding question 5, OLR recommends that the answer read, “Applicants should notify the OLR
and court in which admission was sought in writing of the change and the name of the new
sponsoring attorney.

Regarding question 6, OLR recommends moving Question 21 of the “Q & A” before Question 3,
and recommends that the answer include language stating that OLR is not responsible to approve

the application. OLR also recommends adding clarifying emboldened language to Questions 3
and 4 of the “Q & A” that payment is made to OLR and not to the State Bar or to the court in
which admission is sought.
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Appear of
Court Yes Yes (a) Yes Yes Yes record. Advise a) No No N/A
| discretion (b) Yes client of
(c) Yes judgment on b) No
contemplated
actions that
differ from pro
hac vice
counsel.
Name on Amended to omit
5 appearances Yes Alabama | (a) $300 Yes Yes papers and a) Yes No certain requirements for
in preceding State Bar (b) Yes petsonally the pro hac vice
12 months () No appear at all b) No admission of pro bono
proceedings. counsel. Fee increase.
Name on
Court No Alaska Bar | (a) $620 No Yes papers; a) No No Fee increase from $250
discretion Association | (b) Yes primary to $620
{c) No responsibility b) No
for proceeding.




=1 Service cﬁ‘.‘

- In-State

”.ku.,._a:a_n:nuﬁ to Rule ..

1) The Application for
Court Yes State Bar of | (a) Equal to Yes Yes Name on a) Yes No admission pro hac vice
discretion Arizona Bar member papers, is filed with the State
annual fee, per personal b)No Bar of Arizona.
anmum appearance if 2) A Certificate of
{currently required and Good Standing from
$416). Fifteen joint responsi- each state or court in
percent of the bility for which the applicant has
non-refundable proceeding. been admitted must
application fee accompany the Verified
shall be Application.
deposited into 3) The AZ lawyer who
a civil legal associates with the out-
services fund of-state lawyer will be
administered required fo file a
by the Arizona Motion to Associate
Foundation for Counsel pro hac vice
Legal Services and submit a Proposed
and Order.
Education. 4) Fifteen percent of the
non-refundable
{b)Yes application fee shall be
(c) Yes deposited into a civil
legal services fund
administered by the
Arizona Foundation for
Legal Services and
Hducation.
Court may
Court No No (a) No Yes Yes require a) No Yes N/A
discretion {b) No responsibility
(¢) No for progress of b) No

case.
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Rule 9.40 amended and

Court No State Barof | (a) $50 Yes Yes Attorney of a) Yes No renumbered effective
discretion Separate rule for | California | (b) Yes record. January 1, 2007. See
arbitration (c) No b)No Title Nine Rules
proceedings.
1) $250 fee imposed
Court Yes. See, Rule Yes (a) $250 per Yes Yes Name on a) No. No 2) File verified petition
discretion 221.1 case papers and See, Rule witrial court, copy to
(b) Yes; $10 personally 222. Clerk of Sup. Ct.
to CP appear. 3) Notify client of
Fund. b} No petition filing
(c) No 4} CO lawyer must
appear personally at all
proceedings and remain
unless excused
5) Subject to CO Rules
of Prof. Conduct,
except Rule 1.15
6) Applies to
administrative
proceedings but CO
lawyer not needed
(a) $600 and Name on a) No No
Special and No No (8565 to Yes Yes papers and N/A
Infrequent Dept. of personally b) Ne
Oceasion Rev; $75 appear. :
to CP
Fund} -
(b) Yes; $75 to
CP Fund

{c)No




< Service of

-Associate
with Local

Counsel’

.%.im.l.nim:a to Rule -

Admitting
Court See Rule 71. court files (2) $300 per Yes Yes Name on a) No No N/A
discretion application annum papers and
withlawyer | (b) Yes personally b) No
regulatory (¢} No appear.
agency.
5 appearances (a) $100
in calendar No No (b) No Yes Yes No a) Yes No N/A
year. (c) Yes b) Yes
. 1) $250 fee to Bar
3 appearances No. Yes (ay $250 Yes Yes Sign pro hac a} No No 2) 3 appearances per
within a 365- (b) No vice motion. year
day period. Applies to (c) Yes b) Yes 3) File a uniform
arbitration , motion for admission
proceedings. 4) Rule 1-3.11 applies
to arbitration
{a) $200 Sponsor 1) $200 fee required.
Court No Yes (b} No Yes Yes motion, appear a) No No 2) Defines “domestic
discretion (c) Yes of record and lawyer” and “foreign
advise clientof | b) Yes lawyer”.

judgment on
contemplated
actions that
differ from pro
hac counsel.

3) Specifies in-state
counsel duties.

4) Specifies application
procedure.

5) Shali be subject to
disciplinary action.

6) Service on state bar
who can object.

7) Allows foreign
lawyers and in-house
counsel to be admitted
pro hac vice.




Court No No same as No Yes No a) No No N/A
discretion annual
dues for b) No
Bar
member.
(b) Yes
{c) No
Court
discretion but No Idaho State | (a) $200 Yes Yes Personally #) Yes Reciprocal N/A
reciprocal Bar (b) No appear. limitation on
limitation on {c) No b) No number of
appearances. appearances.
(a) No
Court No No (b} No No No No a) No No N/A
discretion {¢) No b)Yes
(a) Yes,
Court No No same as annual Yes Yes Co-counsel. a) Yes No N/A
discretion dues for Bar Sign all
member, per papers. b) No

annum. ($145)

(b) Yes
{¢) No




Court No Appear of 1) Increase duties of
discretion but Yes No No Yes Yes record, a) No No local counsel.
if35 No actively 2) Limit number of
appearances in participate, b) No AppeArances.
24 months can accept service, 3) Establish application
be denied. advice client procedure.
on
contemplated
actions that
differ from pro
hac counsel.
File motion for 1) $100 fee imposed
Court Yes No {a) $100 Yes Yes pro hac vice a} No No 2) Motion for pro hac
discretion (b) No admission. vice admission must be
{c) Yes Sign all b) No filed by KS lawyer
papers. 3) Shall be subject to
Personally disciplinary action.
appear.
(a) $100
Court No No (b) No Yes Yes Personally a) No No Imposed $100 fee
discretion {c) No appear. b) No




-Apply to State
Administrativ

1) Imposed $250 fee
Court Yes. Yes (a) $250to Yes Yes File motion for 2} No No 2) Motion by LA
discretion Applies to LA Atty. pro hac lawyer and verified
arbitration Disc. Bd. admission and b) No application form by
proceedings. plus any advise client of out-of-state lawyer
fee judgment on 3) Submit to authority
assessed contemplated of courts and LA Atty.
by court actions that Disc. Bd.
(b) - $250 differ from pro 4) Addresses out-of-
{c) Yes hac counsel. state proceedings,
potential in-state and
out-of-state
proceedings, and all
ADR
(a) $600
Court No No {(b) No No No No a} No No Fee increase.
discretion () No b) Yes
File motion for
Court Yes No (a) $25" Yes Yes pro hac vice a) No No N/A
discretion (b) No admission and
{c) No appear at all b) No
proceedings.
(a) No ,
Court No No () No No No No a) No Yes N/A
discretion (c) No b) Ne




Number of

File motion for

.‘bi.on.u.mnm,:ﬁ_g_ Rul

5. Zo _BoH.m .ﬁrms m;.a

No more than Yes Yes {a}) Yes Yes Yes pro hac vice a) No No cases in a 365-day
five casesina (b) Yes admission and period.
365-day (c) No appearance of b} Yes 2) Applies to
period. record, administrative
tribunal/agency/private
arbitration.
3) Copy of motion sent
to Michigan Attorney
Grievance Commission.
4) Fee equal to the
discipline and client-
protection portions of a
bar member’s dues.
5) Consent to discipline
i AAT
(a} No Sign papers
Court No No (b} No Yes Yes and appear at a) No Yes N/A
discretion {¢) No first hearing,. b) No
. Sign appli-
5 appearances Yes No (a) $200 Yes Yes cation for pro a) Yes No 1) Imposed $200 fee
in 12 monihs (b) Indigent hac vice 2) Only 5 appearances
- legal admission. b) No in 12 months
services Name on 3) File verified
(©) Yes papers, application
personal 4) Obtain statement
appearance from Clerk of Sup. Ct.
and joint and listing all prior pro hac
several appearances
responsibility
for proceeding.
(a) 5100 Enter 1) $100 fee imposed
Court Yes No (b) No Yes Yes appearance as a) No No 2) Subject to discipline
discretion () No attorney of b) No in MO

record




Amendments to Rule

$385 (or Attorney of
Total of 2 Yes State Bar of current Yes Yes record. Sign 4) Yes No Fee increase.
appearances, Montana bar dues) all papers and
ever. (b) State Bar personally b)No
of appear.
Montana
(a) No Resident of
Court No No (b) No No Yes NE. Service 1) No No N/A
discretion {(c) No on NE lawyer
allowed. b) No




-Number of -
‘Appearances
Liniite

Court
discretion. No
more than 5
appearances in
a 3-year
period.

Yes

State Bar of
Nevada.
Annual

rencwal of

application.

(b)
(©

$550 per
year, per
case,

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

File motion to
associate.
Counsel of
record,
Present at all
matters in
open court.
Ensure
compliance
with all state
and local rules
of practice.

1) Pro hac vice
admisgion includes
court-annexed or
statutorily-required
arbitrations and
mediations and to
appearances before
administrative agencies
or governmental bodies
{2) There can be no
more than five (5) pro
hac vice admissions
within a three-year
period except upon
good cause shown.

(3) The affiliated NV
counsel shall be
responsible to the Court
or governmental entity
for the administration
of the case and for
compliance with all
state and local rules of
practice. It is the
responsibility of local
counsel to ensure that
the case is handled in
accordance with

all applicable NV rules.

10




Court

discretion’

(b) No
(c) Yes

Yes

Responsible to
the client and
for the conduct
of the
proceeding
before the
court or
agency.
Advise client
of the in-state
lawyer’s
independent
judgment on
contemplated
actions if that
Jjudgment
differs from
the ont-of-state

lawyer.

Fee of $225 imposed.
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| Apply to State
Administrativ

Proceedings

Z:E—_E.ﬁ. :

{a) Varies
Court No No annually, Yes Yes Sign papers. a) No No N/A
discretion maximum
$186 per year. b) No
{b) Lawyer
Reg. ($126);
Client
Protection
Fund ($50;
and LAP (§10)
{c) lawyers
representing
the United
States of
Americaor a
sister state

(a) $450 per 1) Imposed $450 fee
No more than No Yes case Yes Yes Sign first a) No No per case
5 proceedings ($275 motion or 2) File a registration
per year. each year pleading. b) Yes certificate with the
to renew) State Bar of New
(b) Civil i Mexico
legal
services
(c) Yes )
{a) No
Court Ne No (® No Yes Yes Attorney of a) No - No N/A
discretion {c) No’ record. b} Yes
() S125 Personally
Court Yes No (b) $250f Yes Yes appear and a) No Yes $125 fee imposed
discretion $125 accept service b) No
{c) No of process.
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Qccasional
appearances

Yes

State Board
of Law
Examiners

(2) Same fee
required of a
lawyer
licensed for 5
yrs. in ND.

(b)Yes
(c)No

Yes

Yes

Name appears
on all papers
and person-
ally appear at
all pro-
ceedings.

a) No

b) Ne

1) Provides for
registration in court
actions, administrative
proceeding and for in-
house counsel

2) Appearance is not
limited to actual
physical presence in a
court action. Also
appearances by signing
or otherwise being
designated as counsel
on a pleading, motion,
or other paper served or
filed in an action
venued in a NI state
court, administrative
agency, or other
tribunal.

3) Lawyer seeking to
take a deposition within
the state of ND for an
action pending in
another jurisdiction
must comply with ND
R. Prof. Conduct 5.5.
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“Associate: ;|

Amendments:to Rul

1) Centralized pro hac

No more than Yes Supreme {a) $150 No Yes Name and a) No No vice admission through
3 proceedings Court Office | (b) Yes Attorney the Supreme Court’s
per year. of Attorney | (¢) Yes registration b) Yes Office of Attorney
Services number of Services
active Ohio 2} $150 annual
attorney regisiration fee
3) No more than 3
proceedings per year
4) Administrative
revocation if the rule is
violated
File 1) Imposed $350 fee
Court Yes Yes (a) $350 Yes Yes appearance, a) No No 2) Submit application to
discretion {b) No sign pleadings OK Bar and motion
(b)Yes and appear at b) Yes with court
all hearings 2} Subject to discipline
unless waived. in QK
{a) $250 and
Court Yes Oregon obtain mal- Yes Yes Participate a) No No N/A
discretion State Bar practice meaningfully.
insurance b) Yes
{b) All to
Legal Services
Program
{c) No but
exception for
gov’t body.
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(2) $200 (proceeds Member of PA 1) Applies to lawyers
Court No No to Loan Yes Yes bar must file a) No Nao admitted in non-{J.8.
. R Repayment . e e we e
discretion Assistance motion for jurisdictions.
Program). admission and b) Yes 2) $100 fee to IOLTA
(ay No be attorney of _ and $45 fee to CSF
(b) Yes record. added.
3) Fee waived for in
forma pauperis status.
4) Consent to discipline
inPA.
Present motion 1) Limited to 3
No more than Yes No (a) No Yes Yes for admission. n) Yes No appearances in 5-year
3 appearances (b) No Sign all papers period.
in S-year (cy No and assume b} No 2) Applies to
period. . responsibility administrative
for case. proceedings
Client also. 3) Subject to discipline
signs. in RI
3) Reciprocity
requirement eliminated
1) Tncreased fee to $250
Court Yes. Supreme (a) $250 per Yes Yes Attorney of a) Yes No from $25
discretion Limits Court Office | case record. Sign 2} Submit application
appearances of Bar {(b)No papers and b} No 3) Applies to
under Rule 5.5 Admissions | (c)No appear at all arbitration, mediation
(c) of Rules of proceedings. and other alternative
Prof. Conduct dispute resolution

15




1-Reciprocity’
R tagth
(a) $200 plus Employed, 1) Increased fee to $200
Court Yes No obtain SD Yes Yes associated a) No No from $100
discretion Sales and Use with and 2) Subject to discipline
Tax License personally b} No inND
(b)$100 for participates.
Unified File motion
Tudicial recom-
System and mending
$100 for State admission.
Bar.
(c)No
{a) $125 ($105 1) Imposed $125 fee
Court No No discipline; $10 Yes Yes Sign all papers a) No No 2) Number of
discretion CPF; $10 and personally appearances at court’s
LAP) appear. b) No discretion
(b)Yes 3} Subject to TN RPC’s
(c)No and subject to court
jurisdiction
(2) $250 per File motion in
Court No No case Yes Yes support of pro a) Yes No Imposed $250 fee
discretion {b) No hae admission.
(c) Yes b) No
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Resident of

Court No Utah State | () $250 Yes Yes Utah. File a) Yes No Increased fee to $250.
discretion Bar (b)Yes motion for pro
{c)No hac admission. | b) No—
Sign first trial
pleading; may courts.
be required to
attend all Yes -
proceedings. appellate
courts.
Rule 40 of
the [Utah
Rules of
4 Appellate
Procedure
allows
for¢ign
lawyers to be
adrhitted.
File motion for
Court No No (a) $200 Yes Yes pro hac &) No No $200 fee; consent to
discretion {b) No admission. discipline
{c} Yes Sign papers b) No
and may be
i required to
. attend all
proceedings.
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Sign all 1) Appearances limited
12 Yes No (a) $250 Yes Yes papers, accept a) No No to 12 in 12 months
appearances in (b) No ser-vice of all 2) Rule now applies to
past 12 months {c} No papers and file b) No adm. proceedings
motion to 3) $250 fee now
associate 4) Consent to discipline
inVA
5} Local counsel must
file motion fo associate
6) Abolished
reciprocity requirement
7) Par. 10 sets forth
what legal services an
out-of-state lawyer may
provide without the
entry of a pro hac vice
order.
Attorney of
Court No Yes (a) $250 and No Yes record and, at a) Yes No Imposed $250 fee and
discretion lawyer’s discretion of lawyer’s fimd for client
fund for -
client court, present b} No protection assessment.
protection atall
assessment proceedings. Waived fee for indigent
(b) No criminal defense.
(c) Yes
(a) $350 per
Court No West case Yes Yes Will be a) No Yes Increase fee to $300
discretion Virginia (b} No responsible
, State Bar (¢) No local attorney. b) Yes
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(a) $50 . Appear and 1) Applies to
Court Yes No (b} Yes ~ Yes Yes participate. a) No No administrative hearings.
discretion {c) Yes 2) $50 fee to Office of
b) Yes Lawyer regulation
3) fee waived for
indigent or pro bono
€ascs
® 4) In-house counsel
may apply
(a) No Appear at all
Court Yes No (b) No No Yes hearings and "i) No No N/A
discretion (c) No trial. b) No

Copyright © 2013 American Bar Association. All rights reserved. Nothing contained in this chart is to be considered the rendering of legal advice. The
chart is intended for educational and informational purposes only. We make every attempt to keep the chart as accurate as possible. If you are aware of

any imaccuracies in the chart, please send your corrections or additions and the source of that inform

! Right jurisdictions specifically limit the number of pro hac vice admissions. (AL,
2 In twenty jurisdictions, the pro hac vice admission rule applies to state administrative proceedings.

DC, FL, M1, MS, MT, NV and RI)

3 In eighteen jurisdictions, the application for pro hac vice admission is filed with the lawyer disciplinary agency/state bar.

* Thirty-four jurisdictions require a fee for pro hac vice admission.

* In sixteen jurisdictions, the pro hac vice admission fee is used in part by the lawyer regulatory agency.

§ Eleven jurisdictions waive a fee for pro hac vice admission in pro bono or indigent criminal cases.

7 Two jurisdictions waive fee for lawyers representing the United States of America, sister state or gov't body.
® Thirty-nine jurisdictions require pro hac vice admission applicants to consent to discipline in the host state.

? Forty-six jurisdictions require pro hac vice admission applicants to associate with local counsel.
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1° Fifteen jurisdictions exclude in-house counsel from the provisions of their pro hac vice admission rule.

! Five jurisdictions will not admit an out-of-state lawyer pro hac vice unless the lawyer’s home state admits lawyers pro hac vice.

2 Delaware Supreme Court Rule 71

B Uniform Superior Court Rule 4.4

14 Jowa Rule of Court 31.14 (Amended effective September 27, 2006).

13 Kansas Supreme Court Rule 1.10, effective July 1, 2005

' La Sup. Ct. Rule XVII. Admission to the Bar of the State of Louisiana. Section 13. Pro Hac Vice Admission

17 Rules of the Maryland Court of Appeals Governing Admission to the Bar of Maryland, Rule 14

1¥ The fee is found in the Revised Schedule of Circuit Court Charges, Costs, and Fees Established Under Courts Article section 7-202, section ITA(2)(a). It can
be found in the 2003 supplement to the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article to the Michie's Annotated Code, page 254.

1 Minnesota Statutes § 481.02, Subd. 6.; Minnesota Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 143.05, Subd. 1; and Minnesota District Court Rules of Practice, Rule 5
* Rules of the Supreme Court of the State of New Hampshire. Rule 33(1)

* NMRA 24-106. Practice by non-admitted _miaa before state courts.

ZNYCRR § 520.11

2 Oklahoma Supreme Court Rules Creating and Controlling the Oklahoma Bar, Article II, Section 5, Out-of-State Attorneys

* Pennsylvania Rules of Court, Rule 301 of the Pennsylvania Bar Admission Rules. Effective September 2007. “An attorney, barrister or advocate who is
qualified to practice in the courts of another state or of any foreign jurisdiction may be specially admitted to the bar of this Commonwealth for purposes limited
10 a particular matter.”

B Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 79.1(e)
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