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SCR CHAPTER 31  

 

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION 

 
  

 SCR 31.01  Definitions.  

 In this chapter:  

 (1)  "Board" means the board of bar examiners.  

 (1m)  “CLE” means continuing legal education. 

 (2)  "Committee" means a panel comprising at least 3 members of 

the board.  

 (3)  (Repealed) 

 (4)  "Hour" means a period of approved continuing legal education 

consisting of not less than 50 minutes.  

 (5)  "Inactive member" means an inactive member of the state bar 

under SCR 10.03(3) and the bylaws of the state bar.   

 (6)  "Lawyer" means an active member of the state bar under SCR 

10.03(3) and the bylaws of the state bar and includes an active member 

under suspension other than a person under a form of suspension that will 

terminate only on order of the court or a person suspended pursuant to 

SCR 31.10(1).   

 (6m)  "Repeated on-demand program" means an on-line program 

delivered over the Internet, consisting of a program previously approved 

by the board. 

 (7)  "Reporting period" means the two-year period ending 

December 31 during which a lawyer must satisfy the Wisconsin 

continuing legal education requirement of SCR 31.02. The reporting 

period for a lawyer is determined by the year of his or her admission to 

the practice of law in Wisconsin. The reporting period for a lawyer 

admitted in an even-numbered year shall end on December 31 of each 

even-numbered year; the reporting period for a lawyer admitted in an 

odd-numbered year shall end on December 31 of each odd-numbered 

year.  

 (8)  "State bar" means the state bar of Wisconsin.  

 (9)  "Electronic CLE reporting system" means a web-based system 

established by the board of bar examiners through which lawyers may 

electronically file an original or amended report of their CLE compliance.   

 (10)  "Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, or 

process attached to or logically associated with an electronically-filed 
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CLE report that can be executed or adopted by the reporting lawyer with 

the intent to sign the document under oath or affirmation. 

(11)  "Pro Bono legal services" means direct legal services 

provided without fee or expectation of fee to persons of limited means 

through a qualified pro bono program or pursuant to an appointment by a 

state, federal, or tribal court.  

(12) "Qualified pro bono program" means: 

(a) a pro bono program operated by a nonprofit legal services 

organization that receives funding from the Wisconsin Trust Account 

Foundation;  

(b) a pro bono program operated by a Wisconsin law school;  

(c) a pro bono program existing on the date that this rule is adopted 

that is operated by a Wisconsin bar association; or 

(d) a program approved by the board as a qualified pro bono 

program. 

 SCR 31.02  Attendance requirement.  
 (1) A lawyer shall attend a minimum of 30 hours of approved CLE 

during each reporting period.  A lawyer who is a senior active member 

shall attend a minimum of 15 hours of approved CLE during each 

reporting period.  

 (2) A lawyer shall attend a minimum of 3 of the hours required 

under sub. (1) on the subject of legal ethics and professional 

responsibility in every reporting period. 

 (3)  A lawyer may attend a maximum of six (6) hours of the hours 

required under sub. (1) on subjects designed to enhance a lawyer’s 

awareness and understanding of substance abuse/dependence disorders, 

mental illness, stress management, and work/life balance relating to the 

practice of law.  

 (4)  A lawyer may attend a maximum of six (6) hours of the hours 

required under sub. (1) on the subject of law practice management, which 

may include topics such as client communications, trust accounting, 

record keeping, applications of technology, and other subjects essential 

to the practice of law. Courses or portions of courses dealing primarily 

with profit enhancement or marketing of services will be denied credit.  

 (5)  A lawyer may not claim credit for attending the same course 

more than one time during a reporting cycle.  

 SCR 31.03  Reporting requirement.   
 (1)  A lawyer shall file a written report under oath or affirmation 

on designated CLE Form 1 with the board on or before the February 1 

following the last day of the reporting period. The written report shall 
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establish compliance with the attendance requirement of SCR 31.02.   

 (2)  A lawyer who has not satisfied SCR 31.02 and completed the 

reporting requirement under sub. (1) by the close of business on the 

February 1 following the last day of the reporting period shall be assessed 

a late fee of $100.  

 (3)  Lawyers may satisfy the reporting requirements of sub. (1) 

through the electronic CLE reporting system.  Reports filed electronically 

must include the reporting lawyer's electronic signature, by which the 

lawyer avers under oath or affirmation that the information contained in 

the report is true. 

 (4)  Electronically-filed reports are deemed filed when they are 

submitted to the electronic CLE reporting system, except that a late-filed 

report is deemed filed upon receipt of payment of the late fee. 

 SCR 31.04  Exemptions.  
 (1)  A lawyer is exempt from the attendance and reporting 

requirements of this chapter in the year of his or her admission to the 

practice of law in Wisconsin.   

 (2)  A lawyer who does not engage in the practice of law in 

Wisconsin at any time during the reporting period is exempt from the 

attendance requirement of SCR 31.02 but shall comply with the reporting 

requirement of SCR 31.03.  

 (3)  A lawyer whose practice is principally in another jurisdiction 

that has mandatory CLE requirements and who is current in meeting 

those requirements is exempt from the attendance requirement of SCR 

31.02, but shall comply with the reporting requirement of SCR 31.03. 

 SCR 31.05  Approved hours.  
 (1)  Activities that are approved by the board either before or after 

the close of the reporting period may be used to satisfy the requirement 

of SCR 31.02.  Lawyers claiming credit for activities that are not already 

approved must seek approval on a CLE Form 2 filed contemporaneously 

with their CLE Form 1. 

 (2)(a)  Up to 15 hours of CLE reported on CLE Form 1 may be 

carried forward to the next reporting period if all of the following 

conditions are met:   

 1.  The hours that are to be carried forward reflect attendance 

during the reporting period covered by the CLE Form 1. 

 2.  These hours reflect attendance at courses that are approved by 

the board either before or after the close of the reporting period.  Lawyers 

claiming credit for activities that are not already approved must seek 

approval on a CLE Form 2 filed contemporaneously with their CLE Form 
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1. 

 3.  Repealed. 

 (b)  Repealed. 

 (c)  CLE programs approved by the board for legal ethics and 

professional responsibility may not be carried forward under this 

subsection for the purpose of fulfilling the legal ethics and professional 

responsibility requirement of SCR 31.02(2) but may be carried forward 

under par. (a). 

 (3)  Teaching an approved continuing legal or judicial education 

activity or teaching a course, or teaching as guest presenter in a course, 

in a law school approved by the American bar association may be used 

to satisfy the requirement of SCR 31.02. The board shall award 2 hours 

for each hour of presentation.  

 (4)  Participation in an educational activity approved by the judicial 

education committee may be used to satisfy the requirement of SCR 

31.02.  

(5)(a)  A repeated on-demand program may be used to satisfy the 

requirement of SCR 31.02, if all of the following conditions are met: 

1.  The repeated on-demand program is approved prior to being 

claimed for credit by a lawyer on CLE Form 1, and the lawyer must take 

the on-demand program no later than December 31 of the year after the 

year in which approval was given. 

2.  Sponsors of the approved on-demand on-line program must 

maintain a roster verifying the attendance of all attorneys logged-in and 

paying for the program and provide the roster to the board if requested. 

(b)  No more than 15.0 credits may be claimed for repeated on-

demand programs during a lawyer's reporting period. 

(c)  No legal ethics and professional responsibility credit is allowed 

for a repeated on-demand program. 

(d)   For reinstatement, readmission, or reactivation, no more than 

50 percent of a lawyer’s CLE may come from repeated on demand 

programs. 

(6)  Each hour of service on the office of lawyer regulation 

preliminary review committee, special preliminary review panel, district 

committee or as an office of lawyer regulation special investigator may 

be used to satisfy the requirements of SCR 31.02, to a maximum of 3.0 

hours of legal ethics and professional responsibility credit per reporting 

period, provided that the office of lawyer regulation maintains a roster 

verifying service and provides the roster to the board if requested. 

(7)  One (1.0) hour of Wisconsin continuing legal education credit 
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may be claimed for every five (5.0) hours of pro bono legal services as 

defined in this chapter to satisfy the requirements of SCR 31.02, up to a 

maximum of six (6.0) credits per reporting period. Pro bono legal services 

credit may not be used for reinstatement, readmission, or reactivation. 

 SCR 31.06  Attendance and reporting requirements 

for persons upon reactivation, readmission, or reinstatement. 

(1) The board shall determine the attendance and reporting 

requirements for a person who seeks readmission following voluntary 

resignation from the state bar, or reinstatement from a license 

suspension that will terminate only on order of the court, or license 

revocation. 

(2) Lawyers who have been in inactive status or have voluntarily 

resigned from the State Bar and who have not complied with the last 

reporting period, must complete 30 hours of CLE (including 3 ethics 

hours) prior to resuming active status, except lawyers qualified for 

Senior Active status who have not complied with the last reporting 

period must complete 15 hours of CLE (including 3 ethics hours).  Only 

approved CLE activities that were completed during or after the last 

reporting period may be used to satisfy the 30 or 15 hour requirement 

referenced above.  

(3) Lawyers who have been in inactive status or have voluntarily 

resigned from the State Bar and who have not complied with the last 

two reporting periods, must complete 60 hours of CLE (including 3 

ethics hours) prior to resuming active status, except lawyers qualified 

for Senior Active status who have not complied with the last two 

reporting periods must complete 30 hours of CLE (including 3 ethics 

hours).  Only approved CLE activities that were completed during or 

after the last two reporting periods may be used to satisfy the 60 or 30 

hour requirement referenced above. 

(4) An inactive member, whose practice is principally in another 

jurisdiction that has mandatory CLE requirements, satisfies the 

attendance and reporting requirements if the inactive member provides 

a certificate of good standing or other proof of eligibility to practice law 

in the principal jurisdiction.  

(5) Lawyers who resume active status must also satisfy the 

requirements of SCR 31.02 for the reporting period in which they are 

reactivated, readmitted, or reinstated.  

(6) CLE requirements under this section shall not be greater than 

they would have been if the lawyer had not been in inactive status or 

had not voluntarily resigned from the State Bar. 
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 SCR 31.07  Standards for approval of CLE activities.   
 (1)  The board shall designate the number of hours applicable to 

the requirement of SCR 31.02 for each approved CLE activity.  

 (2)  The following standards shall govern the approval of CLE 

activities by the board:  

 (a)  The primary objective of any CLE activity shall be either to 

increase the attendee's professional competence as a lawyer or to fulfill 

their professional responsibility to provide pro bono legal services.   

 (b)  The CLE activity shall deal primarily with matters related to 

the practice of law, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of 

lawyers.  

 (c)  Except for repeated on-demand programs, a mechanically or 

electronically recorded activity will be approved only if a qualified 

instructor is available to comment and answer questions.   

 (d)  CLE materials shall be prepared by and activities shall be 

conducted by an individual or group qualified by practical or academic 

experience.  

 (e)  CLE activities shall be accompanied by thorough, 

well-organized and readable written materials which are available to 

attendees at the time of presentation unless otherwise permitted by the 

board.   

 (f)  The board may grant approval of an activity to an individual 

lawyer, although the activity itself does not satisfy SCR 31.07(2)(a) and 

(b), where the lawyer demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board the 

manner in which the activity increases his or her competence as a lawyer.   

 (3)  The board may approve published legal writings for use toward 

the CLE requirement under rules it may adopt. 

 (4)  An activity sponsored by a private law firm, corporate law 

department or federal, state or local government agency offered for 

lawyers connected with it may be approved if it meets the requirements 

set forth in sub. (2).  

 (5)  The board shall not approve any CLE for legal ethics and 

professional responsibility credit unless that education has a minimum 

component of at least one continuous hour devoted to legal ethics and 

professional responsibility. 

 SCR 31.08  Procedure for approval of CLE activities.  

 (1)  Any person desiring approval of a CLE activity shall submit 

all information required by the board. 

 (2)  Following the presentation of an approved CLE activity, each 

sponsor shall promptly transmit to the board a list of all lawyers in 
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attendance.  

 (3)  The board may annually extend approval to a sponsor for all 

its activities which conform to SCR 31.07. An organization which desires 

the general program approval shall submit all information required by the 

board. 

(4) Any person desiring approval of pro bono legal services hours 

for CLE credit under SCR 31.02 shall submit all information required by 

the board.  

 SCR 31.09  Delegation, determinations and review.   
 (1)  The board may delegate the authority of the board under this 

chapter to a committee, to a member or to the staff of the board.  

 (2)  The board or its delegate shall, in response to written requests 

for approval of courses, waivers, extensions of time or interpretation of 

this chapter, make a written response giving appropriate reasons for the 

determination within a reasonable time.   

 (3)  The board may review any action taken under this chapter at 

the written request of a lawyer or sponsor adversely affected by the 

action. Any request for review shall be made within 60 days after notice 

of the action taken has been sent by mail to the lawyer or sponsor.  

 SCR 31.10  Noncompliance.   
 (1)  If a lawyer fails to comply with the attendance requirement of 

SCR 31.02, fails to comply with the reporting requirement of SCR 

31.03(1), or fails to pay the late fee under SCR 31.03(2), the board shall 

serve a notice of noncompliance on the lawyer.  This notice shall advise 

the lawyer that the lawyer’s state bar membership shall be automatically 

suspended for failing to file evidence of compliance or to pay the late fee 

within 60 days after service of the notice.  The board shall certify the 

names of all lawyers so suspended under this rule to the clerk of the 

supreme court, all supreme court justices, all court of appeals and circuit 

court judges, all circuit court commissioners appointed under SCR 

75.02(1) in this state, all circuit court clerks, all juvenile court clerks, all 

registers in probate, the executive director of the state bar of Wisconsin, 

the Wisconsin State Public Defender’s Office, and the clerks of the 

federal district courts in Wisconsin.  A lawyer shall not engage in the 

practice of law in Wisconsin while his or her state bar membership is 

suspended under this rule.  

 (2)  If the board believes that a false report has been filed, the board 

may refer the matter to the office of lawyer regulation.  

 SCR 31.11  Reinstatement.   
 (1)  Suspension of less than 3 consecutive years.  (a)  A lawyer 
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whose suspension for noncompliance under SCR 31.10(1) has been for a 

period of less than 3 consecutive years may file a petition with the board 

for reinstatement to membership in the state bar.  Payment in the amount 

of $100.00 and any applicable late fee shall accompany the petition.   

 (b)  Within 60 days after service of a petition for reinstatement, the 

board shall make a determination regarding compliance. If the board 

determines that the lawyer is in compliance with all requirements under 

this chapter, it shall reinstate the lawyer's membership in the state bar. 

The board shall certify the names of all lawyers so reinstated to the clerk 

of the supreme court, all supreme court justices, all court of appeals and 

circuit court judges, all circuit court commissioners appointed under SCR 

75.02(1) in this state, all circuit court clerks, all juvenile court clerks, all 

registers in probate, the executive director of the state bar of Wisconsin, 

the Wisconsin State Public Defender’s Office, and the clerks of the 

federal district courts in Wisconsin. 

 (c)  If the board denies a petition for reinstatement, the board shall 

serve a notice of denial on the lawyer. After denial, a hearing shall be held 

by the board only upon written petition of the lawyer made within 30 days 

of service of the notice of denial, which petition for hearing shall be 

served on the board. The board shall conduct the hearing within 60 days 

after service of the petition for hearing and shall make and serve its 

findings and recommendations on the lawyer within 60 days after the 

close of the hearing, and, if adverse to the lawyer, shall notify the supreme 

court of its action. If reinstatement is denied, the findings and 

recommendations of the board shall be reviewed by the supreme court 

only upon written petition by the lawyer filed within 30 days of the date 

of the action of the board.  

(1m)  Suspension of 3 or more consecutive years.  (a)  A lawyer 

whose suspension has been for a period of 3 or more consecutive years 

may file a petition for reinstatement with the supreme court and serve 

a copy on the board and the office of lawyer regulation.  Separate 

payments in the amount of $200 each shall be made to the board of bar 

examiners and the office of lawyer regulation shall accompany the 

petition. 

 

Comment 
Costs regarding the petition for reinstatement under subsection (1m) may be assessed 

against the petitioner, as provided in SCR 22.24.   
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(b)  Within 90 days after service of the petition, the board shall 

make a determination regarding compliance and file its finding with the 

supreme court.   

(c)  Within 90 days after service of the petition, the director of 

the office of lawyer regulation shall investigate the eligibility of the 

petitioner for reinstatement and file a response with the supreme court 

in support of or opposition to the petition. 

(3)  Petition for reinstatement.  The petition for reinstatement 

shall state in detail the manner in which the lawyer has complied with 

all requirements under this chapter.  Only verified attendance at 

sufficient hours of approved CLE activities for the period of suspension 

shall be considered full compliance with the attendance requirements 

of this chapter. 

 (4)  Disciplinary suspension.  A lawyer suspended as a result of 

disciplinary action following referral under SCR 31.10(2) may petition 

the supreme court for reinstatement under SCR 22.28. 

 

Comment 
Costs regarding the petition for reinstatement under subsection (4) may be assessed against the 

petitioner, as provided in SCR 22.24. 

   

 SCR 31.12  Extensions and waivers.  
 (1)  The board may extend time deadlines for completion of 

attendance and reporting requirements in cases of hardship or for other 

compelling reasons.  

 (2)  The board may waive attendance and reporting requirements 

where to do otherwise would work an injustice.  

 SCR 31.13  Service; filing.   
 (1)  Service under this chapter means a communication made by 

certified mail and is complete upon mailing. Service on a lawyer is 

sufficient if addressed to the lawyer's address last listed with the state bar. 

Service on the board is sufficient if addressed to the board at its office.  

 (2)  A report or other communication to the board under this 

chapter is timely filed if any of the following is applicable: 

(a) The report or other communication, together with the 

applicable fees, is received at the board's office within the time specified 

for filing. 

(b) The report or other communication, together with the 

applicable fees, is sent to the board's office through the United States 

Postal Service by 1st class mail, including express or priority mail, 
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postage prepaid, and bears a postmark, other than a commercial postage 

meter label, showing that the communication was mailed on or before the 

last day for filing. 

(c) The report or other communication, together with the 

applicable fees, is delivered on or before the last day for filing to a 3rd-

party commercial carrier for delivery to the board's office within 3 

calendar days.  

 SCR 31.14  Rule-making authority.   
 The board may promulgate rules to carry out the purposes of this 

chapter.  

 

 

 
 Chapter repealed and recreated by S.Ct. Order July 1, 1986, effective January 1, 1987; May 

10, 1988; January 1, 1989; October 17, 1990; January 1, 1991; February 1, 1991; October 24, 1991; 

December 10, 1992; November 18, 1994; December 3, 2008; January 6, 2009; June 1, 2009; 

September 10, 2009; June 14, 2013; July 1, 2017; February 12, 2020; June 30, 2020;  

January 1, 2022. 
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APPENDIX 

 

Rules of the Board of Bar Examiners  

  
DEFINITIONS 

 

 CLE 1.01   

 The year of an attorney's admission to the State Bar of Wisconsin 

shall be the year carried on the computer records of the State Bar unless 

the lawyer notifies the Board in writing prior to the end of his or her first 

reporting period that the State Bar data is incorrect and attaches 

supporting documentation.  

 

 CLE 1.02 
 Except for repeated on-demand programs, the minimum number 

of persons attending a course shall be two attendees and one moderator.  

Fewer than that number, and the course shall be deemed to be self-study 

and shall not be approved for CLE credit. 

  

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

 CLE 3.01   

 The classification of State Bar of Wisconsin membership on the 

February 1 immediately following the end of the lawyer's reporting 

period will govern whether a report will be required. The Board will grant 

lawyers who change to inactive status after February 1 according to State 

Bar records a deferment of the 30 hours then due on receipt of a written 

request that is accompanied by the late fee then due and the written 

statement of the State Bar that the lawyer has in fact already converted 

his or her membership to inactive status. A request will be considered 

timely if received at the Board office by the close of business on the date 

that the lawyer's suspension is to go into effect pursuant to SCR 31.10(1); 

that is, the filing date established by that rule. 

 

CLE 3.015 (Repealed) 

  

 CLE 3.02  
 (1) No late fee will be assessed against lawyers who complete their 

reporting and attendance requirements by the February 1 following the 
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end of their reporting period. 

 (2) Lawyers who have been served with the notice of 

noncompliance set out in SCR 31.10(1) may avoid the automatic 

suspension therein described if, within 60 days after service, they (a) 

complete their reporting and attendance requirements and (b) pay the late 

fee.  

 

 CLE 3.03 
 Where CLE Form 1 appears in SCR Chapter 31, it shall also 

include written amendments of a CLE Form 1 previously filed for the 

same reporting period.  Such amendments are subject to the same 

deadlines as the CLE Form 1. 

 

EXEMPTIONS 

 

 CLE 4.01 

 Although a lawyer is exempt from attendance or reporting in the 

calendar year during which his or her admission falls, the lawyer may 

report on the CLE Form 1 due at the end of the first full two-year 

reporting period any approved hours up to a maximum of 15 that were 

attended between the date of admission and the end of the calendar year 

in which his or her admission to the practice of law occurred.  Hours 

carried in under this provision may not be used to satisfy the legal ethics 

and professional responsibility requirement in accordance with SCR 

31.05(2)(c). 

 

APPROVED HOURS 

 

 CLE 5.01 

Sponsors must provide a method for lawyers who have taken on-

line on-demand programs to submit questions, and must provide answers 

supplied by instructors who are qualified by practical and academic 

experience with fifteen business days, at no additional cost. 
 

CLE 5.02 

 (1) Applications for approval of on-line on-demand programs must 

be accompanied by 

(a) A copy of the on-line on-demand program on DVD; 

(b) A statement of the manner in which the sponsor intends 

to comply with CLE 5.01. 
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(2) Sponsors with general program approval under SCR 

31.08(3) need not comply with the requirements of sub. (1). 

 

 CLE 5.03 

 Grading the essay portion of the Wisconsin bar exam may be 

used to satisfy the requirements of SCR 31.02, up to a maximum of six 

(6) credits per examination administration.  No legal ethics and 

professional responsibility credits shall be awarded for grading the essay 

portion of the Wisconsin bar exam.  

 

ATTENDANCE AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR 

PERSONS UPON REACTIVATION OR REINSTATEMENT 

 

 CLE 6.01   
 Compliance with CLE make up requirements shall be a 

prerequisite to reactivation of membership in the State Bar of Wisconsin.  

 

STANDARDS FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING LEGAL 

EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 

 

 CLE 7.005 

 Except for repeated on-demand programs as defined in SCR 

31.01(6m), self-study courses as defined in CLE 1.02, and courses 

explicitly disapproved in Wisconsin, courses approved for CLE credit by, 

and attended in, any other state or territory or the District of Columbia are 

deemed approved for the same number of hours and for the same 

purposes in Wisconsin.  To take advantage of this section, lawyers must 

document the out-of-state approval in connection with filing their CLE 

Form 1. 

 

 CLE 7.01  
 The following portions of the program may not be counted for 

credit:  breaks, business meetings, and similar non-academic activities.  

  

 CLE 7.02   
 Credit hours shall be rounded down to the nearest whole or half 

hour.  Hours of credit shall be determined by the following formula: Total 

minutes minus nonacademic portions (breaks, business meetings) divided 

by 50 minutes equal the hours of CLE credit.   
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 CLE 7.03  
 Approved hours merely reflect a maximum that may be earned 

through attendance. Only actual attendance by the lawyer may be used to 

satisfy the Wisconsin requirement.  

  

 CLE 7.04   
 Credit will not be allowed for any program which in its entirety 

lasts less than 50 minutes.  

  

 CLE 7.05  

[Repealed.]   

 

 CLE 7.06 

(1) A published legal writing is defined as material that satisfies all 

of the following criteria: 

(a) It has been published, in print or electronically, in the form of 

an article, chapter, book, or significant revision; 

(b) It was written in whole or in substantial part by the lawyer 

submitting the request for approval; and 

(c) It satisfies the criteria set forth in SCR 31.07(2) (a) and (b) in 

that its objective is to increase the reader's professional competence as a 

lawyer, and in that its content must deal primarily with matters related to 

the practice of law, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of 

lawyers. 

(2) Published legal writings specifically exclude the following: 

(a) Compiling or editing materials written by others; 

(b) Contributions to blogs or brief current-awareness entries in 

newsletters or magazines; 

(c) Material that is produced on behalf of or in support of a client, 

including submissions to a court of law or to an administrative agency; 

(d) Authorship of published decisions; 

(e) Material appearing in any media, whether print or electronic 

the published content of which is controlled by the applicant or by the 

applicant’s firm or employer or that is published by the applicant; 

(f) Material appearing in a publication for general circulation or in 

a publication directed to a non-lawyer audience; and 

(g) Materials that are developed and distributed at CLE activities 

in accordance with SCR 31.07(2) (e). 

 

 CLE 7.07 



 

 271 

 In order to request approval for a published legal writing, a CLE 

Form 4 and a copy of the published legal writing must be submitted by 

its author to the Board. 

 

 CLE 7.08 
 A lawyer may claim his or her actual preparation time up to a 

maximum of 15 hours for any approved published legal writing. 

 

 CLE 7.09 
 A lawyer may not claim in excess of 15 hours for all approved 

published legal writings in any one reporting period. 

 

 CLE 7.10 
 The only reporting period in which hours for an approved 

published legal writing may be claimed is that in which the writing was 

published. 

 

 

 

 

PROCEDURE FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING LEGAL 

EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 

 CLE 8.01 

 Approval may be refused to a sponsor for any course which has 

previously been falsely advertised as approved by the Board of Bar 

Examiners. 

 

 CLE 8.02 

 General program sponsorship does not extend to activities in 

which the sponsor acts as the co-sponsor of an activity.  Approval shall 

be sought by letter from the general program sponsor to the Board. 

 

 CLE 8.03 

 Any sponsor holding general program approval that fails to 

cooperate with the administrative requirements developed by the Board 

may have its general program approval revoked by the Board. 

 

 

 CLE 8.04 
 CLE Form 2 shall be submitted to the Board to initiate a request 
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for course approval.  The Board will accept a uniform national course 

approval request form at the discretion of its Board. 

 

 CLE 8.05 

 CLE Form 5, or CLE Form 2, shall be submitted to initiate a 

request for legal ethics and professional responsibility approval.  The 

Board will accept a uniform national course approval request form at the 

discretion of its Board. 

 

 CLE 8.06 

 Program sponsors shall maintain a list of lawyers in attendance for 

a minimum of four (4) years.  Attendance lists may be kept in hardcopy 

or stored in a retrievable electronic format. 

 

REINSTATEMENT AFTER SUSPENSION 

PURSUANT TO SCR 31.11 

 CLE 11.02  

 Petitions for reinstatement pursuant to SCR 31.11(1)(a) must be 

executed under oath or affirmation.  

 

 CLE 11.03 
 The number of hours required of a lawyer seeking reinstatement is 

30 per previous reporting period up to a maximum of 60; in addition, the 

lawyer will be required to meet the requirement for the reporting period 

in which his or her reinstatement falls. 

 

 CLE 11.04 
 The Board will accept the election of the SCR 31.04(2) exemption, 

if appropriate, in satisfaction of its requirement for reinstatement only for 

the reporting period from which the suspension arose; that is, the 

exemption may not be used toward reinstatement for any reporting period 

subsequent to the reporting period from which the suspension arose. 

 

EXTENSIONS AND WAIVERS 

  

CLE 12.01   

 The Board will consider extensions for completion of attendance 

and reporting requirements only upon written request.  
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SERVICE; FILING 

 

 CLE 13.01  
 The Board will not accept facsimile transmissions in satisfaction 

of its filing requirements.   

 

BOARD MEETINGS 

  

CLE 14.01 

 As an agency of the Supreme Court, the Board is not subject to 

Subchapter V of Chapter 19 of the Wisconsin Statutes, relating to open 

meetings of governmental bodies.  However, the Board posts the dates, 

locations and agendas of its meetings in its Internet web site and invites 

the public to attend its meetings.  Members of the public are not allowed 

to attend meetings or parts of meetings that involve confidential matters.  

Examples of confidential matters include (i) individuals' applications for 

admission to the Wisconsin bar, (ii) hearings on admission applications 

and (iii) bar examination questions. 
 

 

 Adopted December 12, 1986, by the Board of Attorneys Professional Competence; 
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