

Office of the Clerk Supreme Court of Misconsin

> 110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

> > TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > > November 13, 2023

To:

Daniel S. Lenz Electronic Notice

Scott B. Thompson Electronic Notice

Elizabeth M. Pierson Electronic Notice Douglas M. Poland Electronic Notice

Jeffrey A. Mandell Electronic Notice

Rachel E. Snyder Electronic Notice

*Distribution List Continued on Pages 3-5

You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following order:

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Pending before the court is an original action filed by petitioners, Rebecca Clarke, et al. By the terms of this court's October 6, 2023 order granting leave to commence the original action solely as to Issues 4 and 5 set forth in the petition, <u>see Clarke v. Wis. Elections Comm'n</u>, 2023 WI 70, the court scheduled oral argument for November 21, 2023. The court is considering the best manner in which to conduct oral argument and wants to avoid duplicative arguments by any party. Consequently, the court has concluded that, for the purposes of oral arguments, the parties shall be divided into two groups based on whether the party is seeking relief, or whether the party is opposed to relief. Group One will include: Rebecca Clarke, et al.; Nathan Atkinson, et al.; Governor Tony Evers; and Senators Carpenter, Larson, Spreitzer, Hesselbein and Smith. Group Two will include: the Wisconsin Legislature; Senators Cabral-Guevara, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, James, Kapenga, LeMahieu, Marklein, Nass, Quinn, Tomczyk, and Wanggaard; and Johnson, et al. Each group will receive 80 minutes of oral argument time, and will submit a plan that advises the court as to how that group intends to divide the 80 minutes. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that on or before 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 16, 2023, Group One and Group Two shall each submit a plan that advises the court as to the following: (1) the list of issues, in order, that the group intends to argue and the total amount of time for each issue and

(2) for each issue the attorney(s) who will be arguing that issue and the amount of time that each attorney will argue. Group One may choose to reserve 15 minutes of the 80 minutes allotted oral argument time for rebuttal. The parties in each group are encouraged to reach agreement to avoid duplicating arguments. If multiple parties wish to present argument on any particular issue, those parties should ensure they will not duplicate arguments of any other party. Each group shall submit its plan to the court via email to the Clerk of Supreme Court at clerk@wicourts.gov. The subject line of the email shall read: "Urgent: Oral Argument November 21, 2023; 2023AP1399-OA;" and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that oral argument will commence at 8:45 a.m. on Tuesday, November 21, 2023. Each party shall have back-up counsel available to argue in the event that the designated attorney(s) cannot appear and present oral argument for any reason on November 21, 2023; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that a non-party, *amicus curiae*, shall not be granted oral argument time in addition to the argument time allotted above to the two groups of parties, but an *amicus curiae* may participate in presenting oral argument if any group of parties cedes the *amicus curiae* time. If a group cedes argument time to an *amicus curiae*, the issue(s), amount of time, and the name of the *amicus curiae* attorney presenting argument shall be listed in the group's argument plan; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if any special access, visual, or hearing arrangements are necessary for your attendance in court, please advise the Clerk of Supreme Court no later than 12:00 noon on Monday, November 20, 2023; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that upon arrival for oral argument, each attorney presenting argument shall check in with the Clerk's office staff outside the Supreme Court Hearing Room.

REBECCA GRASSL BRADLEY, J., dissents.

Samuel A. Christensen Clerk of Supreme Court Page 3 November 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA

Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Distribution List Continued:

T.R. Edwards Electronic Notice

Mark P. Gaber Electronic Notice

Ruth M. Greenwood Electronic Notice

Steven C. Kilpatrick Electronic Notice

Thomas C. Bellavia Electronic Notice

Charlotte Gibson Electronic Notice

Karla Z. Keckhaver Electronic Notice

Jessie Augustyn Electronic Notice

Tamara Packard Electronic Notice

Eduardo E. Castro Electronic Notice

Annabelle E. Harless Electronic Notice

Brent Ferguson Electronic Notice

Benjamin Phillips Electronic Notice Hayden Johnson Electronic Notice

Nicholas O. Stephanopoulos Electronic Notice

John Freedman Electronic Notice

Elisabeth S. Theodore Electronic Notice

Rachel C. Tucker Electronic Notice

Daniel M. Vitagliano Electronic Notice

Taylor A.R. Meehan Electronic Notice

Kevin M. St. John Electronic Notice

Matthew H. Frederick Electronic Notice

Scott A. Keller Electronic Notice

Gabriela Gonzalez-Araiza Electronic Notice

Adam K. Mortara Electronic Notice

Shannon Grammel Electronic Notice Page 4 November 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA

Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Richard M. Esenberg Electronic Notice

Luke N. Berg Electronic Notice

Nathalie E. Burmeister Electronic Notice

Anthony D. Russomanno Electronic Notice

Brian P. Keenan Electronic Notice

Faye B. Hipsman Electronic Notice

Mel Barnes Electronic Notice

Sarah A. Zylstra Electronic Notice

Tanner G. Jean-Louis Electronic Notice

Dax L. Goldstein Electronic Notice

Christine P. Sun Electronic Notice

John B. Hill Electronic Notice

Jessica Amunson Electronic Notice

Sam Hirsch Electronic Notice Arjun Ramamurti Electronic Notice

Elizabeth Deutsch Electronic Notice

Michael R. Ortega Electronic Notice

C'Zar Bernstein Electronic Notice

Tony Wilkin Gibart Adam Voskuil Daniel P. Gustafson Midwest Environmental Advocates 634 W. Main St. Suite 201 Madison, WI 53703

Robert Yablon Bryna Godar State Democracy Research Initiative, University of Initiative, University of Wisconsin Law School 975 Bascom Mall 975 Madison, WI 53706

Matthew W. O'Neill Fox, O'Neill & Shannon, S.C. 622 North Water Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Margo S. Kirchner Wisconsin Justice Initiative, Inc. P.O. Box 100705 Milwaukee, WI 53210

Daniel J. Schneider 2707 W. Augusta Blvd., Unit 2 Chicago, IL 60622 Page 5 November 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA

Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Nathan J. Kane WMC Litigation Center 501 East Washington Avenue Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Samuel T. Ward-Packard Elias Law Group LLP 250 Mass. Ave NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20001

Nicholas E. Fairweather Hawks Quindel S.C. 409 E Main Street Madison, WI 53703

Abha Khanna Elias Law Group LLP 1700 Seventh Ave, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101

William K. Hancock Julie Zuckerbrod Elias Law Group LLP 250 Mass. Ave NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20001

Jonathan B. Miller Michael Adame Public Rights Project 490 43rd Street, #115 Oakland, CA 94609