Form Summary

Name of Form:	Findings on Confinement of Juvenile Defendant Charged as an Adult
Form Number:	CR-219
Statutory Reference:	34 U.S.C. 11133(a)(11)(B)
Benchbook Reference:	
Purpose of Form:	To document required findings when a juvenile defendant under the age of 17 is held in adult jail.
Who Completes It:	Court.
Distribution of Form:	Juvenile defendant and counsel, prosecutor, victim, adult jail/detention center.
Accompanying Forms:	None.
New Form/Modification:	Modification. Last update 02/23.
Modification:	Added #1 and #2. b. in findings; modified findings in #5 to mirror statute, and updated title of form.
Comments:	Juveniles under the age of 17 may not be held in adult jail or confined in any institution in which they have sight and sound contact with adult inmates for longer than six hours, unless the court makes several specific findings on the record. Sight and sound contact is defined as "any physical, clear visual, or verbal contact that is not brief and inadvertent." 34 U.S.C. § 11103(25). These findings must be reviewed every 30 days, and the juvenile cannot be held for longer than 180 days unless additional findings are made.
About this Form:	This form is the product of the Wisconsin Records Management Committee, a committee of the Director of State Court's Office and a mandate of the Wisconsin Judicial Conference.
	If you have additional information that does not change the meaning of the form, attach it on a separate page. The form itself shall not be altered.