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Dismissal and Suspension 

NOTICE: Family and divorce laws change often.  These forms may not be appropriate for all 
situations.  They are intended to be useful in many cases and may have to be changed in some way 
to fit your case.  Talk to a lawyer if you are unsure that these forms are the most appropriate for your 
situation. Court staff cannot give legal advice. 

 
Stipulation and Order Dismissing Divorce/Legal Separation (FA-4143VA/B) forms 
 
These forms are used when both parties agree to dismiss or end the pending divorce/legal separation 
action.  If the parties dismiss the action and later choose to divorce or legally separate, they must file a 
new action and again pay all the required fees. 
 

Stipulation and Order Suspending Proceedings to Effect Reconciliation (FA-
4144VA/B) forms 
 
These forms are used to suspend (put on hold) the divorce/legal separation action for up to 90 
days.  Both parties must agree.  If a temporary order is in effect, all orders are also suspended.  
Once the divorce/legal separation is suspended, the following options apply: 
 

 Reconcile (get back together): If at any point during the suspension, the parties agree to 
reconcile, they may complete the Stipulation and Order Dismissing Divorce/Legal 
Separation (FA-4143VA/B) (see below) forms to end the divorce/legal separation action.   

 

 End the suspension and continue with the divorce/legal separation: Either party may make 
this request at any time during the suspension. If so, they must complete the Motion and Order 
to Revoke Suspension of Proceedings to Effect Reconciliation (FA-4145VA/B) forms and 
mail a copy to the court and the other party.  All temporary orders previously entered by the 
court will be reinstated. 

 
 

 
 

 1. Complete either the Stipulation and Order Dismissing Divorce/Legal Separation (FA-
4143VA/B) forms or the Stipulation and Order Suspending Proceedings (FA-
4145VA/B) forms. 

 
 2. Make three (3) copies of the completed original Stipulation and Order forms.  Make 

an additional copy if the State of Wisconsin (Child Support Agency) is a party to the 
action.   

 
 3. Prepare two (2) self-addressed stamped envelopes (one addressed to you and one 

addressed to the other party) so the court can send each party a copy of the Order 
after the court has signed it. If the State of Wisconsin (Child Support Agency) is a 
party, prepare one unstamped envelope addressed to the Child Support Agency. 

Procedural Checklist 
 

 



 

FA-5006V, 05/17 Dismissal or  Suspension  
Page 2 of 2 

 
 4. Mail or deliver the original, copies, and self-addressed stamped envelopes to the court. 

If the State of Wisconsin (Child Support Agency) is a party, also mail or deliver a copy 
to the Child Support Agency.  The court  will review, sign, and have a signed copy 
returned to you.   

 
 5. If you requested a: 

 
 A. Dismissal: There is nothing more you need to do once the court has approved 

the stipulation. Your divorce/legal separation will be dismissed. 
 

 B. Suspension: The 90 day suspension begins the date the court signs the order.  
During the 90 day suspension you may: 
i. Reconcile and complete the form to dismiss the divorce (Complete the 

Stipulation and Order Dismissing Divorce/Legal Separation (FA-4143V) 
forms and repeat #’s 1-4 above). 

ii. End the suspension and continue with the divorce/legal separation. 
 a. Complete the Motion and Order to Revoke Suspension of 

Proceedings to Effect Reconciliation (FA-4145VA/B) forms.  All 
temporary orders will resume upon signature of the court.   

 
 b. Make three (3) copies of the completed original Motion and Order to 

Revoke Suspension of Proceedings to Effect Reconciliation 
forms.  Make an additional copy if the State of Wisconsin (Child 
Support Agency) is a party to the action.   

 
 c. Prepare two (2) self-addressed stamped envelopes (one addressed to 

you and one addressed to the other party) so the court can send each 
party a copy of the Order after the court has signed it. If the State of 
Wisconsin (Child Support Agency) is a party, prepare one unstamped 
envelope addressed to the Child Support Agency. 

 
 d. Mail or deliver the original, copies, and self-addressed stamped 

envelopes to the court.  If the State of Wisconsin (Child Support 
Agency) is a party, also mail or deliver a copy to the Child Support 
Agency.  The court will review, sign, and have a signed copy returned 
to you.   


