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§§48.275, 938.275(2), Wisconsin Statutes and State Public Defender
administrative rules.

IV2&8

To formalize an order for signature by the court official to order the parents to
reimburse the state for costs of legal services provided to a juvenile by a publicly
paid attorney.

Juvenile court clerk for signing by the court official.

BY THE COURT: Circuit Court Judge. THIS IS A FINAL ORDER FOR THE
PURPOSE OF APPEAL.

Court; copy to parents and clerk of court or other agency for creating a payment
record.

Generally none.
Modification; last update 04/08.
Gender-neutral parent’s language.

Chapters 48 and 938 require the parents to reimburse the state for costs of legal
services expended by the state on behalf of their child/juvenile. The only
exceptions to this requirement are if the parent(s) were the complaining party or if
ordering reimbursement would be "unfair."

The recoupment is required regardless of whether there was adjudication. The
statute requires only that the case is concluded. This would include conclusions
through consent decrees, formal adjudications, stipulated dismissals, or even
findings of not guilty.

The State Public Defender has established by administrative rule the amount of
reimbursement to be $480 in juvenile felony matters and $240 in all other matters,
regardless of actual attorney costs. The court must enter this order at the
conclusion of the proceedings, regardless of whether or not there is an
adjudication. Parents who believe they are indigent may seek a determination by
the State Public Defender but must do so within 30 days of the date of this order.

Payment options are included as part of this order. Each court should:

. establish the identity of the office to receive payments (clerk of court or
juvenile clerk), and,

. by local court rule, a standardized amount to be inserted for the monthly
payment if the court does not wish to determine such an amount in each
case.

Enforcement of the order is accomplished through ch. 785 contempt proceedings.

This form is the product of the Wisconsin Records Management Committee, a
committee of the Director of State Court's Office and a mandate of the Wisconsin
Judicial Conference.

If you have additional information that does not change the meaning
of the form, attach it on a separate page. The form itself shall not be
altered.
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