Marathon County judge selected to chair Committee of Chief Judges

Madison, Wisconsin - July 22, 2021

Ninth Judicial Administrative District Chief Judge Gregory B. Huber, Marathon County Circuit Court, has been selected by his fellow chief judges to serve as chair of the Committee of Chief Judges, effective Aug. 1.

Huber, who was first elected to the circuit court in 2004, has served as the district’s chief judge since 2016. He previously served as a deputy chief judge and was re-elected to the bench in 2010 and 2016.

Before joining the circuit court, Huber represented the 85th Assembly District in the Wausau area, from 1989 to 2004. He was an assistant district attorney in Marathon County from 1983 to 1988. Huber previously served on the Legislative Committee of the Wisconsin Judicial Conference and is former co-chair of the Ninth District Pro Se Committee. He has a bachelor’s degree from UW-Madison and a law degree from UW Law School.

District Nine includes Florence, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, and Wood counties.

Huber will replace current committee chair, Chief Judge Robert P. VanDeHey, Grant County Circuit Court. VanDeHey will have served the traditional one-year term in the position as of July 31.

VanDeHey was appointed chief judge of the Seventh Judicial Administrative District in 2016. He also previously served as a deputy chief judge.

VanDeHey was first appointed to Grant County Circuit Court in 1998 after working as an attorney in private practice. VanDeHey has served in a variety of court-related positions, including as a member of the Juvenile Jury Instruction Committee and as a faculty member of both the Juvenile Law Institute and Wisconsin Judicial Conference. VanDeHey also previously served as a member of the Wisconsin Judicial Council and chaired the Probate Benchbook Committee. He was selected "Judge of the Year" by the State Bar of Wisconsin in 2016. VanDeHey has a bachelor's degree from UW-Madison and a law degree from UW Law School.

District Seven includes Adams, Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties.

Working as a team with a deputy chief judge and a professional court administrator, a chief judge manages the flow of cases and meets several times a year with other chief judges as a committee to work on administrative issues of statewide importance. With the exception of the First Judicial Administrative District, where the chief judge is a full-time administrator, chief judges and their deputies maintain court calendars in addition to handling administrative matters.

More information about chief judges can be found here. More information about the state's Judicial Administrative Districts can be found here.

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to current headlines