HON. JASON A. ROSSELL Chief Judge 912 56th Street Kenosha, WI 53140-3747 Telephone: (262) 653-2814

HON. TIMOTHY D. BOYLE Deputy Chief Judge 730 Wisconsin Avenue Racine, WI 53403-1274 Telephone: (262) 636-3150

HON. DAVID M. REDDY Presiding Judge Walworth County P.O. Box 1001 Elkhorn, WI 53121-1001 Telephone: (262) 741-7052

LOUIS C. MOORE District Court Administrator 730 Wisconsin Avenue Racine, WI 53403-1274 Telephone: (262) 636-3322 STATE OF WISCONSIN

SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Second Judicial

District of

Wisconsin

Kenosha

Racine

Walworth

RACINE COUNTY COURTHOUSE 730 WISCONSIN AVENUE RACINE, WISCONSIN 53403

FAX (262) 636-3437

<u>MUNICIPAL COURT</u> OWI Sentencing Guidelines – Second District

Non Commercial Non Aggravated					
BAC Levels	.08149	.15169	.17199	.20249	.25+
Forfeiture	\$175.00	\$175.00	\$200.00	\$250.00	\$300.00
Penalty Surcharge	\$45.50	\$45.50	\$52.00	\$65.00	\$78.00
Jail Surcharge	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00
Crime Lab Drug Surcharge	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
Court Costs	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00
Driver Improvement Surcharge	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
Safe Ride Program Surcharge	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
Ignition Interlock Surcharge	NA	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
Total Financial	\$766.50	\$816.50	\$848.00	\$911.00	\$974.00
	\$866.50*	\$916.50*	\$948.00*	\$1,011.00*	\$1,074.00*
Suspension/Revocation	6 Months	6 Months	7 Months	8 Months	9 Months
Occupational License Availability	Immediate	ly			
Ignition Interlock Device Period	NA	12 Months			

Non Commercial Aggravated					
BAC Levels	.08149	.15169	.17199	.20249	.25+
Forfeiture	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$250.00	\$300.00	\$300.00
Penalty Surcharge	\$52.00	\$52.00	\$65.00	\$78.00	\$78.00
Jail Surcharge	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00
Crime Lab Drug Surcharge	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
Court Costs	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00	\$38.00
Driver Improvement Surcharge	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
Safe Ride Program Surcharge	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
Ignition Interlock Surcharge	NA	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
Total Financial	\$798.00	\$848.00	\$911.00	\$974.00	\$974.00
	\$898.00*	\$948.00*	\$1,011.00*	\$1,074.00*	\$1,074.00*
Suspension/Revocation	7 Months	7 Months	7 Months	9 Months	9 Months
Occupational License Availability	Immedia	tely	·		•
Ignition Interlock Device Period	NA	12 Months			

*Effective July 7, 2023

			Ef	fective 01/01	/2024				
BAC	.08-	.149	.15-	.199	.20	249		.25+	
	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	
Forfeiture	\$150.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$300.00	\$300.00	\$300.00	
P.A	\$39.00	\$52.00	\$52.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$78.00	\$78.00	\$78.00	
J.S	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	
C.L.D.S.	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	
COSTS	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	
I.I.D.	NA	NA	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	
TOTAL	\$743.50	\$806.50	\$856.50	\$919.50	\$919.50	\$982.50	\$982.50	\$982.50	
	\$843.50*	\$906.50*	\$956.50*	\$1,019.50*	\$1,019.50*	\$1,082.50*	\$1,082.50*	\$1,082.50*	
Revocation	6 months	7 months	7 months	8 months	8 months	9 months	9 months	9 months	
Occupational Lice	ense Availability		IMMEDIA	TELY SUBS	EQUENT TO	OFFENDER 7	TAKING THE	TEST	
Ignition Interlock	Period	NA	12 MONTH	IS					

<u>CIRCUIT COURT</u> OWI Sentencing Guidelines – Second District

* Effective July 7, 2023

		FIRST OF		RCUIT COU fective 01/01		IN VEHICLI	E	
BAC	.08-	.08149		.15199		.20249		.25+
	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.
Forfeiture	\$350.00	\$500.00	\$500.00	\$800.00	\$800.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,100.00
P.A	\$91.00	\$130.00	\$130.00	\$208.00	\$208.00	\$260.00	\$260.00	\$286.00
J.S**	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$11.00	\$11.00
V/W	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00
CRIME LAB.	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
COSTS	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
DNA	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00
I.I.D.	NA	NA	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$	\$
Revocation				12 MONTHS	- 18 MONTH	IS		
Jail	5 – 30 days		/ 30-6	0 days	/ 60) – 120 days	/ 120-18	0 days
Ignition Interlock F	Period	NA		12 MONTHS				
Occupational Licer	nse	I	MMEDIATE	LY SUBSEQU	JENT TO OF	FENDER TA	KING THE TE	ST

* Effective July 7, 2023 ** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

				SECOND OF Effective 01/				
BAC	.08-	.149	.15-	.15199		.20249		.25+
	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.
Fine	\$350.00	\$500.00	\$500.00	\$800.00	\$800.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,100.00
P.A.	\$91.00	\$130.00	\$130.00	\$208.00	\$208.00	\$260.00	\$260.00	\$286.00
J.S.**	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$11.00
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *	\$435.00 \$535.00 *
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
V/W	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00
DNA	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$1,429.00 \$1,529.00 *	\$1,618.00 \$1,718.00 *	\$1,618.00 \$1,718.00 *	\$1,996.00 \$2,096.00 *	\$1,996.00 \$2,096.00 *	\$2,248.00 \$2,348.00 *	\$2,248.00 \$2,348.00 *	\$2,375.00 \$2,475.00 *
Revocation	12 months	14 months	14 months	16 months	16 months	18 Months	18 Months	18 Months
Jail	30 days	60 days	60 days	90 days	90 days	120 days	150 days	180 days
Probation			12 Mo	nths – 18 Mon	ths – Min 5 d	ays Condition	al Time	
Interlock Period			1	2 Months – 18	Months			
Occupational License	AFTER 45	AFTER 45 DAYS IF ASSESSMENT AND DRIVER'S SAFTEY PLAN COMPLETED AND IN COMPLIANCE WITH IGNITION INTERLOCK REQUIREMENTS						

*Effective July 7, 2023 ** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

Fine Range:\$350 - \$1,100Jail Term:Not less than 5 days nor more than 6 months

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2, Wis. Stats:

Fine Range: \$700 - \$2,200

Jail Term: Not less than 10 days nor more than 12 months

THIRD OFFENSE Effective 01/01/2024

INELIGIBLE FOR BAIL AFTER CONVICTION PER SEC. 969.01(2)(a), WIS. STATS. INELIGIBLE FOR STAY OF SENTENCE PER SEC. 973.15(8)(a)(3), WIS. STATS.

BAC	.08-	.169	.17-	.199	.20-	.249		.25+
	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.	NONAGG.	AGG.
Fine **	\$600.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,200.00	\$2,000.00	\$2,000.00	\$2,400.00	\$3,000.00	\$4,000.00
P.A	\$156.00	\$260.00	\$312.00	\$468.00	\$468.00	\$624.00	\$624.00	\$780.00
J.S.***	\$10.00	\$10.00	\$12.00	\$20.00	\$20.00	\$24.00	\$30.00	\$40.00
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
V/W - Misd	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00	\$67.00
V/W – Felony	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00
DNA								
Misdemeanor	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00	\$200.00
Felony	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL:								
	\$1,744.00	\$2,248.00	\$2,502.00	\$3,466.00	\$3,466.00	\$4,026.00	\$4,632.00	\$5,798.00
Misdemeanor	\$1,844.00*	\$2,348.00*	\$2,602.00*	\$3,566.00*	\$3,566.00*	\$4,126.00*	\$4,732.00*	\$5,898.00*
Felony	\$1,819.00	\$2,323.00	\$2,577.00	\$3,541.00	\$3,541.00	\$4,101.00	\$4,707.00	\$5,873.00
5	\$1,919.00*	\$2,423.00*	\$2,677.00*	\$3,641.00*	\$3,641.00*	\$4,201.00*	\$4,807.00*	\$5,973.00*
Revocation	24 months	27 Months	27 Months	30 Months	30 Months	33 Months	36 Months	36 Months
Incarceration	90 days	180 days	180 days	270 days	270 days	360 days	360 days	360 days
Interlock Period	•	•	1	2 Months -36		•	•	•

*Effective July 7, 2023

** Per Sec. 346.65(2)(g) 1-3 the min and max fines double for a PAC of .17-.199; triple for a PAC of .20-.249; and quadruple for a PAC of .25 & Up, Therefore:

600	-	2000	PAC	<.17
1200	-	4000	PAC:	.17199
1800	-	6000	PAC:	.20249
2400	-	8000	PAC:	.25 & UP

*** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

Jail Term: Not less than 45 days nor more than 12 Months

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2 - FELONY OFFENSE

Fine Range:	Min & Max Double
Jail Term:	90 days to 24 Months

FOU	RTH OFFENSE – CLA	MITIGA	OR OFFENSES CO TING FACTORS ive 01/01/2024	MMITTED ON OR A	AFTER 01/01/17
	IGIBLE FOR BA ELIGIBLE FOR S				
PAC	.02079	.08169	.17 199	.20249	.25 +
Fine**	\$1,000	1,800.00	\$2,800.00	\$3,800.00	\$4,800.00
P.A.	\$260.00	\$468.00	\$728.00	\$988.00	\$1,248.00
J.S.***	\$10.00	\$18.00	\$28.00	\$38.00	\$48.00
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
V/W	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00
DNA	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$2,323.00	\$3,339.00	\$4,609.00	\$5,879.00	\$7,149.00
	\$2,423.00*	\$3,439.00*	\$4,709.00*	\$5,979.00*	\$7,249.00*
Revocation	•		24 TO 36 MONT		
Incarceration				(6 YEARS)(3 years IC	
Probation				YS MIN CONDITIO	NAL TIME
Interlock Period		12 N	IONTHS – 36 MONT	`HS	
Occupational. License			NOT ELIGIBL	E	

*Effective July 7, 2023

** Per Sec. 346.65(2)(g) 1-3 the min and max fines double for a PAC of .17-.199; triple for a PAC of .20-.249; and quadruple for a PAC of .25 & Up, Therefore:

600	-	10,000	PAC < .17
1200	-	20,000	PAC .17199
1800	-	30,000	PAC .20249
2400	-	40,000	PAC .25 & UP

Incarceration Range: Not less than 60 days nor more than 6 years (3 years IC- 3 years ES)

*** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2: -

Fine: Min. & Max Fines Double Incarceration: Min. & Max. Terms Double

FO	URTH OFFENSE – CLA	AGGRAV	OR OFFENSES CO ATING FACTORS tive 01/01/2024	MMITTED ON OR A	AFTER 01/01/17	
	LIGIBLE FOR BAI IELIGIBLE FOR S					
PAC	.02079	.08169	.17 199	.20249	.25 +	
Fine**	\$1,600.00	\$2,600.00	\$3,200.00	\$4,600.00	\$6,400.00	
P.A.	\$416.00	\$780.00	\$832.00	\$1,196.00	\$1,664.00	
J.S.***	\$16.00	\$26.00	\$32.00	\$46.00	\$64.00	
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	
V/W	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	
DNA	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	
TOTAL	\$3,085.00	\$4,459.00	\$5,117.00	\$6,895.00	\$9,181.00	
	\$3,185.00*	\$4,559.00*	\$5,217.00*	\$6,995.00*	\$9,281.00*	
Revocation	•	·	24 TO 36 MONT			
Incarceration				(6 YEARS)(3 YEARS	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Probation				60 DAYS CONDITIO	NAL TIME	
Interlock Period		12 N	IONTHS – 36 MONT	ΉS		
Occupational. License		NOT ELIGIBLE				

*Effective July 7, 2023

** Per Sec. 346.65(2)(g) 1-3 the min and max fines double for a PAC of .17-.199; triple for a PAC of .20-.249; and quadruple for a PAC of .25 & Up, Therefore:

	600 1200 1800 2400	- - -	10,000 20,000 30,000 40,000	PAC < .17 PAC .17199 PAC .20249 PAC .25 & UP
Incarceration Range:	Not le	ess than	60 days nor more than	– 6 years (3 years IC- 3 years

*** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

ES)

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2: -

Fine:	Min. & Max Fines Double
Incarceration:	Min. & Max. Terms Double

Γ

	1	MITIGA	FENSE – CLASS G TING FACTORS tive 01/01/2024	FELONY	
	ELIGIBLE FOR BA NELIGIBLE FOR S				
PAC	.02079	.08169	.17 199	.20249	.25 +
Fine**	\$1,600.00	\$2,600.00	\$3,200.00	\$4,600.00	\$6,400.00
P.A.	\$416.00	\$780.00	\$832.00	\$1,196.00	\$1,664.00
J.S.***	\$16.00	\$26.00	\$32.00	\$46.00	\$64.00
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
FILING \$163.00		\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
V/W \$92.00		\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00
DNA \$250.00		\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$3,085.00	\$4,459.00	\$5,117.00	\$6,893.00	\$9,181.00
	\$3,185.00*	\$4,559.00*	\$5,217.00*	\$6,993.00*	\$9,281.00*
Revocation	24 TO 36 MONTHS				
Incarceration	Max. 10 years. Court shall impose min. initial confinement for not less that 18 months. If court imposes less than 18				
months, court must find less time is in the best interest of the community and the public will not be harme		vill not be harmed. Court must			
	place its reasoning on the record. ****Effect. 02/29/20				
Probation Interlock Period	UP TO 5 YEARS – MIN 6 MONTHS CONDITIONAL TIME 12 MONTHS – 36 MONTHS				
Occupational.		12 N	10101115 - 30 MONT		
License	NOT ELIGIBLE				

*Effective July 7, 2023

** Per Sec. 346.65(2)(g) 1-3 the min and max fines double for a PAC of .17-.199; triple for a PAC of .20-.249; and quadruple for a PAC of .25 & Up, Therefore:

600	-	25,000	PAC < .17
1200	-	50,000	PAC .17199
1800	-	75,000	PAC .2029
2400	-	100,000	PAC .25 & UP

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2:

Fine:	Min. & Max Fines Double
Incarceration:	Min. & Max. Terms Double

*** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

FIFTH & SIXTH OFFENSE – CLASS G	FELONY
AGGRAVATING FACTORS	
Effective 01/01/2024	

INELIGIBLE FOR BAIL AFTER CONVICTION PER SEC. 969.01(2)(a), WIS. STATS. INELIGIBLE FOR STAY OF SENTENCE PER SEC. 973.15(8)(a)(3), WIS. STATS.

PAC	.02079	.08169	.17 199	.20249	.25 +
Fine*	\$2,200	\$3,200.00	\$3,800.00	\$5,200.00	\$7,000.00
P.A.	\$572.00	\$832.00	\$988.00	\$1,352.00	\$1,820.00
J.S.***	\$22.00	\$32.00	\$38.00	\$52.00	\$70.00
CRIME LAB	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00	\$13.00
D.I.S.	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00	\$435.00
	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*	\$535.00*
S.R.P.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
FILING	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00	\$163.00
V/W	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00	\$92.00
DNA	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00	\$250.00
I.I.D.	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00	\$50.00
TOTAL	\$3,847.00	\$5,117.00	\$5,879.00	\$7,657.00	\$9.943.00
	\$3,947.00*	\$5,217.00*	\$5,979.00*	\$7,757.00*	\$10,043.00*
Revocation	24 TO 36 MONTHS				
Incarceration	Max. 10 years. Court shall impose min. initial confinement for not less that 18 months. If court imposes less than months, court must find less time is in the best interest of the community and the public will not be harmed. Court muplace its reasoning on the record. ****Effect. 02/29/20			. If court imposes less than 18	
				will not be harmed. Court must	
Probation	UP TO 5 YEARS- MIN CONDITIONAL TIME OF 18 MONTHS				
Interlock Period	12 MONTHS – 36 MONTHS				
Occupational.					
License			NOT ELIGIBL	E	

*Effective July 7, 2023

** Per Sec. 346.65(2)(g) 1-3 the min and max fines double for a PAC of .17-.199; triple for a PAC of .20-.249; and quadruple for a PAC of .25 & Up, Therefore:

600	-	25,000	PAC < .17
1200	-	50,000	PAC .17199
1800	-	75,000	PAC .20249
2400	-	100,000	PAC .25 & UP

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2:

Fine:	Min. & Max Fines Double
Incarceration:	Min. & Max. Terms Double

*** ONLY APPLIES IF A FINE IS IMPOSED – Sec. 302.46, Wis. Stats.

SEVENTH & EIGHTH & NINTH OFFENSE – CLASS F FELONY Effective 01/01/2024

INELIGIBLE FOR BAIL AFTER CONVICTION PER SEC. 969.01(2)(a), WIS. STATS. INELIGIBLE FOR STAY OF SENTENCE PER SEC. 973.15(8)(a)(3), WIS. STATS.

Revocation	24 TO 36 MONTHS	
Incarceration	MIN 3 YEARS CONFINEMENT - 12.5 YEARS	
Fine	Up to \$25,000 ***	
Costs	\$163.00 per Sec. 814.60	
V/W	\$92.00 per Sec. 973.045	
DNA	\$250.00	
CRIME LAB	\$13.00 per Sec. 165.755	
Probation	NOT APPLICABLE	
Interlock Period	12 MONTHS – 36 MONTHS	
Occupational.		
License	NOT ELIGIBLE	

***If a fine is imposed a driver's improvement surcharge of \$435.00 must also be imposed per Sec. 346.655, Wis. Stats., for offenses prior to July 7, 2023. After July 7, 2023, the surcharge is \$535.00.

*** If a fine is imposed - a penalty surcharge of 26% of the fine must be imposed

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2:

Fine:Min. & Max Fines DoubleIncarceration:Min. & Max. Terms Double

TENTH OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE – CLASS E FELONY Effective 01/01/2024

INELIGIBLE FOR BAIL AFTER CONVICTION PER SEC. 969.01(2)(a), WIS. STATS. INELIGIBLE FOR STAY OF SENTENCE PER SEC. 973.15(8)(a)(3), WIS. STATS.

Revocation	24 TO 36 MONTHS	
Incarceration	MIN 4 YEARS CONFINEMENT UP TO 15 YEARS	
Fine	Up to \$50,000 ***	
Costs	\$163.00 per Sec. 814.60	
V/W	\$92.00 per Sec. 973.045	
DNA	\$250.00	
CRIME LAB	\$13.00 per Sec. 165.755	
Probation	NOT APPLICABLE	
Interlock Period	12 MONTHS – 36 MONTHS	
Occupational.		
License	NOT ELIGIBLE	

***If a fine is imposed a driver's improvement surcharge of \$435.00 must also be imposed per Sec. 346.655, Wis. Stats., for offenses prior to July 7, 2023. After July 7, 2023, the surcharge is \$535.00.

*** if a fine is imposed - a penalty surcharge of 26% of the fine must be imposed

For Minor in Vehicle - 346.65(2)(f)2:

Fine:	Min. & Max Fines Double
Incarceration:	Min. & Max. Terms Double

SENTENCING CONSIDERATIONS

As indicated on the relevant matrix, third offense OWI with passenger in vehicle is now a felony offense. A fourth offense OWI is also a felony.

Driver's safety plan is required in all cases. Plan may have victim awareness component including effect on victim and victim's family.

Forfeitures and fines may be reduced in cases of inability to pay with reduction in amount applied to surcharge/plan costs.

Community service must be ordered by the court to reduce the forfeitures and fines if the offender cannot pay the same. The court is to determine amount of reduction in fine for each hour of community service work performed. Sec. 346.65(2g)(ag), Wis. Stats.

Restitution may be ordered by the court.

Site visits to emergency room or alcohol treatment facility may be ordered by the court.

Demerit points are assigned by the DMV in all cases.

Huber privileges are not available unless the offender complies with Alcohol Surcharge, Ignition Interlock orders and Driver's Safety Plan. (Exception for offender who cannot comply because of insufficient funds to obtain surcharge). Sec. 303.065(2m), Wis. Stats.

INGITION INTERLOCK

Required for all offenses except for 1st offense OWI where BAC is under .15.

Applicant must comply with all requirements of the use of vehicles equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device if applicant's vehicle(s) were ordered to have the ignition interlock device placed on them under Wis. Stats. 346.65(6)(a), Wis. Stats.

IID may start/end on a different date than revocation as revocation period is extended by the number of days to which the court sentences the defendant to imprisonment in a jail or prison for an offense related to the revocation. Sec. 343.30(1r), Wis. Stats.

AGGRAVATING AND MITIGATING FACTORS

The guidelines suggest what may be appropriate penalties in situations which are either aggravated or not aggravated. The presence or absence of mitigating or aggravating circumstances in each case will dictate into which of the two matrixes the case more readily fits.

If the mitigating factors dominate, then the "Not Aggravated" matrix would seem more appropriate, with the degree of mitigation dictating the choice of what penalties, within the confines of the appropriate grid, ought to be imposed. If the aggravating factors dominate, then that matrix would seem appropriate, with the degree of aggravation dictating what penalty, within the confines of the appropriate grid, should be utilized.

Some examples of mitigating factors are, but not limited to:

- No evidence of unsafe driving other than intoxication
- No Accident
- No injuries
- No or minimal prior offenses in Wisconsin or elsewhere
- Valid driver's license held at time of offense
- No minor passengers or other at risk individuals, i.e. pregnant passengers; individuals with disabilities, etc.
- No evidence of texting or use of electronic devices at time of driving
- Age of any prior OWI/PAC offenses passage of time
- Cooperation with law enforcement
- Responsible efforts to address AODA issues
- Sincere show of remorse
- Extrajudicial penalties incurred (loss of job, etc.)

Some examples of aggravating factors are, but not limited to:

- Driving without valid driver's license, i.e. after revocation, etc.
- Evidence of unsafe driving beyond mere intoxication
- Accident
- Injuries sustained by others
- Property damage sustained by others
- Prior moving violations; Prior uncounted OWI offenses
- Lengthy prior driving record
- Time and location of driving, i.e. high traffic and pedestrian area, school zones, etc.
- Age of prior OWI/PAC offense
- Prior criminal record
- Uncooperative with law enforcement
- Violation of court orders, i.e. driving restrictions, absolute sobriety, etc.
- Violations of custody release monitoring rules
- Missed court appearances
- Lack of remorse
- Lack of efforts to address AODA issues

- Failure to comply with surcharges ordered in the past
- Lack of insurance
- Minor passenger or at risk individuals in vehicle, i.e. pregnant passengers; individuals with disabilities, etc.