SUPREME COURT OF WISCONSIN

NOTICE This order is subject to further editing and modification. The final version will appear in the bound volume of the official reports.

No. 19-21

In the Matter of Amending sections 757.60(9) and (10), Wis. Stats., and Supreme Court Rules 70.17(9) and (10), and Renumbering section 753.06(9)(d), Wis. Stat. (Judicial Districts: Iron County)

FILED

FEB 13, 2020

Sheila T. Reiff Clerk of Supreme Court Madison, WI

On October 22, 2019, the Honorable Randy R. Koschnick, Director of State Courts, filed a rule petition asking the court to amend Wis. Stat. § 757.60(9) and (10), Supreme Court Rules (SCR) 70.17(9) and (10), and renumber Wis. Stat. § 753.06(9)(d). The petition proposes transferring Iron County from the ninth judicial district to the tenth judicial district for reasons of judicial efficiency.

The court discussed the petition at a closed administrative rules conference on December 9, 2019. It voted to seek written comments and requested Judge Koschnick seek input from the judges and district court administrators in the affected districts. Judge Koschnick sent a letter dated December 13, 2019 inviting input from his colleagues in the affected districts and the court issued its standard interested persons letter on December 16, 2019 requesting comment by January 13, 2020. No comments were received. The court discussed the matter again at a closed administrative conference on February 11, 2020. After discussion, the court concluded that transferring Iron County from the ninth judicial district to the tenth judicial district will manage workload disparity, improve administrative efficiency, and reduce administrative costs. The court determined that no public hearing was necessary and voted to grant the petition. Therefore,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition is granted and that:

SECTION 1. 753.06(9)(d) is renumbered 753.06(10)(gm).

SECTION 2. 757.60(9) of the statutes is amended to read:

757.60(9) The 9th district consists of Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, and Wood counties.

SECTION 3. 757.60(10) of the statutes is amended to read:

757.60(10) The 10th district consists of Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, <u>Iron,</u> Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, and Washburn counties.

SECTION 4. Supreme Court Rule 70.17(9) is amended to read:

70.17(9) The 9th district consists of Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, and Wood counties.

SECTION 5. Supreme Court Rule 70.17(10) is amended to read:

70.17(10) The 10th district consists of Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, <u>Iron,</u> Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer<u>,</u> and Washburn counties.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the effective date of this order is July 1, 2020.

2

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that notice of the above amendments be given by a single publication of a copy of this order in the official publications designated in SCR 80.01, including the official publishers' online databases, and on the Wisconsin court system's website. The State Bar of Wisconsin shall provide notice of this order. Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this 13th day of February, 2020.

BY THE COURT:

Sheila T. Reiff Clerk of Supreme Court

No. 19-21