

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Timothy M. Barber Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

July 17, 2023

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 23-01, In the Matter of Amending Wis. Stat. § 809.12, Relating to Appellate Review of Motion for Relief Pending Appeal

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of Rule Petition 23-01, filed on January 23, 2023, by Attorney Caleb R. Gerbitz and Attorney James M. Sosnoski of Meissner Tierney Fisher & Nichols S.C. This rule petition asks the court to amend Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 809.12 "to clarify the standard of review for a decision on a motion for a stay pending appeal." A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending/2301.htm. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization potentially have an interest in this matter.

A letter soliciting public comment was circulated on May 26, 2023, setting a deadline to submit comments by Friday, June 23, 2023. The court has since received several requests to extend the comment period. Based on those requests, the court has extended the comment period to Monday, October 2, 2023. Petitioners may file a response to the comments no later than Monday, October 16, 2023.

Comments to the rule petition, and any response, should be filed with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. Submissions should also be emailed in Microsoft Word format to <u>clerk@wicourts.gov</u>. See comment guidelines at the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/process.htm.

Interested persons may consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/index.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written submissions filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at tim.barber@wicourts.gov.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Timothy M. Barber
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet
Justice Brian Hagedorn
Justice Jill J. Karofsky
Attorney Caleb R. Gerbitz
Attorney James M. Sosnoski

List of Interested Persons

Badger State Sheriffs' Association, Attn: Executive Director

Board of Administrative Oversight, Attn: Denis Donohoe, Chair

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Circuit Court Judges

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Samuel A. Christensen

Court of Appeals, Attn: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Court Operations: Holly Szablewski, Deputy Director of State Courts, Court Operations

Court Operations: Ann Olson, Krista Miller, Amber Peterson, Trent Koerner, Meg Sternitzky

Department of Administration, State Prosecutors Office, Attn: Kasey Deiss, Director

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy Koschnick

District Court Administrators

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attn: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Hamilton Consulting Group, Attn: Rebecca Hogan, R.J. Pirlot, Adam Jordahl

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attn: Deedee Peterson, Executive Director

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attn: Colleen Foley, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attn: Joseph D. Kearney, Dean

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attn: Timothy Samuelson, Director; Barry Boline,

Preliminary Review Committee, Chairperson

Office of State Public Defender, Attn: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attn: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attn: Josh L. Kaul

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attn: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attn: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attn: Dean Dietrich, President

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attn: Jane Bucher, President-Elect

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attn: Daniel Tokaji, Dean; Myra Sun, Exec. Asst.

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attn: Winn S. Collins

Wisconsin Asian American Bar Association, Attn: Julius Kim, President

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attn: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director; Jim Rogers,

Government Affairs Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attn: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attn: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attn: Kris Cleven, Vice President-Legal

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attn: Regina Kolbow, Stacy Kleist

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attn: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attn: Jenni Kilpatrick, Executive Director; Andrew Hebl,

President

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attn: Greta Mattison, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attn: David Pruhs, Deputy Family Court Commissioner; Lisa Krueger, Family Court Commissioner; Elizabeth Pfeuffer,

Family Court Commissioner; Peggy Miller, Family Court Commissioner

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attn: Pamela M. Ritger

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attn: Beth Ann Richlen, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attn: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attn: William C. Gleisner, III, Chair

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attn: Lisa Milella

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attn: Honorable Robert Kupfer

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attn: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association

Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attn: Sandy Schueller

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attn: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attn: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr.

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attn: Honorable Gwendolyn Topping, President

List of additional interested persons

Attorney Elizabeth M. Pierson and Attorney Daniel S. Lenz, Law Forward Inc.

Attorney Jeffrey A. Mandell, Stafford Rosenbaum LLP

Attorney Scott Rosenow, WMC Litigation Center, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Appellate Practice Section, Attn: Matthew S. Pinix, Chairperson Wisconsin Judicial Council, Appellate Practice Committee, Attn: Honorable Thomas M.

Hruz, Chairperson