

Nancy A. Kopp David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Timothy M. Barber Commissioners

May 26, 2023

To: Interested Persons – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 23-01, In the Matter of Amending Wis. Stat. § 809.12, Relating to Appellate Review of Motion for Relief Pending Appeal.

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 23-01, filed on January 23, 2023, by Attorney Caleb R. Gerbitz and Attorney James M. Sosnoski of Meissner Tierney Fisher & Nichols S.C. This rule petition asks the court to amend Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 809.12 "to clarify the standard of review for a decision on a motion for a stay pending appeal."

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization potentially have an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at <u>https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending/2301.htm</u>.

At a closed conference on May 24, 2023, the court voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing at a date to be determined for the fall of 2023. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by Friday, June 23, 2023, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. Additionally, if you or your organization submit a comment, please email a Microsoft Word version of the same to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/process.htm*. The petitioner may file a response to any comments by Friday, July 7, 2023.

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

You might wish to consult the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/index.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-266-7742, or by email at *tim.barber@wicourts.gov*.

Sincerely, /s/ Timothy M. Barber Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet Justice Brian K. Hagedorn Justice Jill J. Karofsky Attorney Caleb R. Gerbitz Attorney James M. Sosnoski

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court

Badger State Sheriffs' Association, Attention: Executive Director Board of Administrative Oversight, Attention: Denis Donohoe, Chair Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges Circuit Court Judges Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Judges Court Operations: Diane M. Fremgen, Deputy Director of State Courts, Court Operations Court Operations: Ann Olson, Krista Miller, Amber Peterson, Trent Koerner Dean Dietrich. Attornev Department of Administration, State Prosecutors Office, Attention: Kasey Deiss, Director Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy Koschnick **District Court Administrators** Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Rebecca Hogan, R.J. Pirlot, Adam Jordahl Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: Deedee Peterson, Executive Director Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Colleen Foley, Executive Director Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney, Dean Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Timothy Samuelson, Director Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Josh L. Kaul Preliminary Review Committee, Attention: Barry Boline State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Margaret W. Hickey, President University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Daniel Tokaji, Dean; Myra Sun, Exec. Asst. Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock Wisconsin Asian American Bar Association, Attention: Julius Kim, President Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director; Jim Rogers, Government Affairs Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Kris Cleven, Vice President-Legal Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Regina Kolbow, Carlo Esqueda Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jenni Kilpatrick, Executive Director; Andrew Hebl. President Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Deputy Family Court Commissioner; Lisa Krueger, Family Court Commissioner; Elizabeth Pfeuffer, Family Court Commissioner; Peggy Miller, Family Court Commissioner Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Pamela M. Ritger Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Beth Ann Richlen, Executive Director Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: William C. Gleisner, III, Chair Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Samuel Christensen Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director
Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association
Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: Sandy Schueller
Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard
Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr.
Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gwendolyn Topping, President

List of additional interested persons

Attorney Elizabeth M. Pierson and Attorney Daniel S. Lenz, Law Forward Inc. Attorney Jeffrey A. Mandell, Stafford Rosenbaum LLP Attorney Scott E. Rosenow, WMC Litigation Center, Executive Director