

JACQUELYNN B. ROTHSTEIN DIRECTOR

## Supreme Court of Misconsin

BOARD OF BAR EXAMINERS POST OFFICE BOX 2748 MADISON, WI 53701-2748 TELEPHONE: (608) 266-9760

FAX: (608) 266-1196 bbe@wicourts.gov

You received this mailing because you were admitted to practice law in Wisconsin in an odd-numbered year and your Wisconsin membership status is listed as active or senior active. Thus, you are required to comply with the continuing legal education (CLE) reporting requirements pursuant to SCR 31.03.

## For the 2022-2023 reporting cycle:

- All attorneys are required to **electronically file** their CLE report using the e-filing program at <a href="https://www.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/edu.htm">https://www.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/edu.htm</a>. This applies to those attorneys who report credit hours and also to those attorneys who choose one of the exemptions noted below.
- If your primary practice is <u>in Wisconsin</u>, you will be required to comply with the attendance requirement pursuant to SCR 31.02.
  - Active members will be required to report a minimum of 30.0 approved CLE credit hours, 3.0 hours of which must satisfy the EPR (ethics and professional responsibility) requirement.
  - Senior Active members (75 years or older) will be required to report a minimum of 15.0 approved CLE credit hours, 3.0 hours of which must satisfy the EPR (ethics and professional responsibility) requirement.
- If you did not engage in any activity constituting the practice of law <u>in Wisconsin</u> for the complete 2022-2023 reporting period, you have the option of electing the **Attendance Exemption** pursuant to SCR 31.04 (2), in lieu of listing hours.
- If your primary practice is in a jurisdiction (other than Wisconsin) that has a mandatory CLE requirement, and you have complied with it, you have the option of electing the **Comity Exemption** pursuant to SCR 31.04 (3), in lieu of listing hours.
- To avoid a late filing fee or other penalties, your 2022-2023 courses must be completed by January 31, 2024, and your CLE report must be submitted electronically on or before February 1, 2024. Attorneys who choose one of the exemptions must also submit their reports electronically on or before February 1, 2024, to avoid late fees or other penalties.

Additional information and complete reporting instructions are posted on the Court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/edu.htm.

Should you need further assistance with filing, please contact our CLE Records Manager Team: Tammy McMillen at (608) 261-2350.