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2019-2020 CLE REPORTING INFORMATION 
 

 
WHO MUST FILE:  Lawyers who were admitted to practice law in Wisconsin in an even-numbered year and who are 

on active status according to the membership records of the State Bar of Wisconsin are required to file a CLE Form 1 

electronically.  By electronically filing CLE Form 1, lawyers are reporting their compliance with Wisconsin’s 30-hour 

mandatory continuing legal education (CLE) requirements for the reporting period beginning January 1, 2019, and ending 
December 31, 2020.  Lawyers admitted in 2020 are not required to report their CLE credits until February 1, 2023. 

 

LAWYERS ADMITTED IN 2018:  Lawyers admitted in 2018 may report up to 15 approved CLE hours attended 
between their date of Wisconsin bar admission and the end of 2018.  However, EPR hours will only be accepted if 

attended after January 1, 2019. 

 

LAWYERS WHO ARE AGE 70 OR OLDER:  Lawyers who attain the age of 70 by December 31, 2020, may be 
eligible for emeritus membership status with the State Bar of Wisconsin.  Emeritus members are under no obligation to 

comply with the Wisconsin mandatory CLE requirements.  However, the State Bar of Wisconsin must authorize such a 

classification change for it to be effective. 
 

FILING DEADLINE:  Courses must be completed by January 31, 2021, and your 2019-2020 CLE Form 1 must be 

electronically filed with the Board of Bar Examiners by February 1, 2021.  Filing is effective when the form is e-filed on 
the BBE website.  See SCR 31.13(2) for filing details.  

 

LATE PENALTIES:  Lawyers who do not establish compliance on a timely basis will be assessed a late fee of $100.00 

in accordance with the Supreme Court Rules.  Late fees are routinely assessed if: 
 

1. A course used to satisfy the regular CLE or the EPR requirement is attended after January 31, 2021. 

2. The CLE Form 1 is not timely filed. See “Submitting Your Report” within the CLE Electronic Filing Instructions. 
3. The CLE Form 1 (or a subsequent and timely amendment thereto) does not establish 30 approved hours, including 

3 approved EPR hours, or the election of an appropriate exemption, or the declaration of a previously authorized 

waiver. 

 

NOTE:  Late fees must be made payable to the Board of Bar Examiners and mailed to: 

Board of Bar Examiner, Post Office Box 2748, Madison, WI 53701-2748 or by ePayment through the 

Wisconsin court website at https://www.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/edu.htm. 
 

LIST OF APPROVED COURSES:  The Board approves thousands of CLE activities each year.  A searchable list of 

approved courses can be found at https://www.wicourts.gov/services/attorney/edu.htm.  Contact the Board office if you 
have questions about course approvals.   

 

AMENDING TO THE CLE FORM 1:  Lawyers who attend additional approved credit hours after they have filed their 
CLE Form 1 may amend their 2019-2020 Form 1 by sending in a written request to the Board of Bar Examiners.  The 

amendment will serve to increase carryover hours for the next reporting period.  Requests to amend are not accepted by 

facsimile or e-mail transmission, must be signed by the lawyer, and must be received in accordance with the filing 

deadline. 
 

NEEDING ASSISTANCE:  Please contact our CLE Manager Team:  Tammy McMillen at 608-261-2350 or 

Julie Halverson at 608-261-2349. 
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