Unclaimed funds

In order to avoid holding funds in a trust account indefinitely and losing contact with the
owner(s), a lawyer should promptly follow up on any trust account check that has not
cleared within two to three months of disbursement.

Abandoned property, which OLR and the Department of Revenue interpret to include
unclaimed funds held in lawyer trust accounts, is described as follows in Sec. 177.02(1),
Wis. Stats.:

Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, all intangible property,
including any income or increment derived from it, less any lawful
charges, that is held, issued or owing in the ordinary course of a holder's
business and that has remained unclaimed by the owner for more than 5
years' after it became payable or distributable is presumed abandoned.

Escheatment of Funds held in Trust: Pursuant to Wis. Stats., Sec. 177.03, there are
a number of circumstances under which funds held in trust by a lawyer or law firm may
have to escheat to the State of Wisconsin. These include the following:

1. the lawyer’s or law firm’s records reflect that the last-known address for the
apparent owner is in Wisconsin;

2. the lawyer’s or law firm’s records do not reflect the identity of the person
entitled to the property, and it is established that the last-known address of
the person entitled to the property is in this state;

3. The lawyer’s or law firm’s records do not reflect the last-known address of
the apparent owner; and it is established that the last-known address of the
person entitled to the property is in Wisconsin.

4.  The transaction out of which the property arose occurred in this state and
the last-known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to
the property is either unknown or in a state that does not provide for
escheatment of unclaimed property.

Out-of-State Owners: If the last known address of the owner is in another state, the
funds may have to escheat to that state’s unclaimed property program.

Unclaimed Property The National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators
Programs (NAUPA) maintains a website with links to unclaimed property
programs in the U.S., Canada, and a number of other

countries. Go to: https://www.unclaimed.org/

Due Diligence Letters: Prior to remitting funds to the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, a lawyer should send a “due diligence” letter to the owner of any unclaimed
funds in excess of $50.% [See, Wis. Stats., Sec. 177.17(5)]. While the statute does not

' The 5-year period may be shortened to 1 year if the attorney is joining another firm, retiring, or otherwise
ceasing the practice of law. (See, Wis. Stats., Sec. 177.11)

A sample due diligence letter can be found in the Unclaimed Property Holder Reporting Guide that is

available on the Department of Revenue’s website: https:/www.revenue.wi.gov/ or in hard copy by
contacting the Unclaimed Property Office, toll free, at: 877-699-9211.




require “due diligence” letters for amounts of less than $50, lawyers are encouraged to
send such letters in all cases in order to document the lawyer’s efforts to locate the
property owner and notify the owner of the impending transfer of trust funds to the
Department of Revenue.

Prohibited Deductions: OLR takes the position that a lawyer may not deduct charges
for efforts to locate the owner(s) of funds held in trust. Such efforts are part of a lawyer’s
fiduciary obligations.

The DOR has an established policy that the only charges that may be deducted from
unclaimed funds are the bank service charges and traveler's check/money order fees
authorized under Wis. Stats. SEC. 177.06(3) and Sec. 177.04(3). The DOR has also
acknowledged that other statutory liens (Warehouseman's, Self-Storage and Mechanic's
Liens) allow for expenses to be deducted prior to reporting to the Unclaimed Property
Unit.

For further information, contact the Unclaimed Property Program Administrator at the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue:

Toll Free No.: 877-699-9211
Website: https://www.revenue.wi.qgov/
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Wis. Stats. 177.03

177.03 General rules for taking custody of intangible unclaimed property. Unless
otherwise provided in this chapter or by another section of the statutes, intangible property is
subject to the custody of this state as unclaimed property if the conditions raising a presumption
of abandonment under ss. 177.02 and 177.05 to 177.165 are satisfied, and one of the following
conditions is present:

(1) The last-known address, as shown on the records of the holder, of the apparent owner is

in this state.

(2) The records of the holder do not reflect the identity of the person entitled to the property
and it is established that the last-known address of the person entitled to the property is in this
state.

3)

(a) The records of the holder do not reflect the last-known address of the apparent owner; and

(b) Either of the following is established:

1. The last-known address of the person entitled to the property is in this state.

2. The holder is a domiciliary or a government or governmental subdivision or agency of
this state and has not previously paid or delivered the property to the state of the last-known
address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property.

(4) The last-known address, as shown on the records of the holder, of the apparent owner is
in a state that does not provide by law for the escheat or custodial taking of the property or its
escheat or unclaimed property law is not applicable to the property and the holder is a domiciliary
or a government or governmental subdivision or agency of this state.

(5) The last-known address, as shown on the records of the holder, of the apparent owner is
in a foreign nation and the holder is a domiciliary or a government or governmental subdivision
or agency of this state.

(6)

(a) The transaction out of which the property arose occurred in this state;

(b) Either of the following exists:

1. The last-known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property is
unknown.

2. The last-known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property is
in a state that does not provide by law for the escheat or custodial taking of the property or its
escheat or unclaimed property law is not applicable to the property; and

(c) The holder is a domiciliary of a state that does not provide by law for the escheat or
custodial taking of the property or its escheat or unclaimed property law is not applicable to the
property.

History: 1983 a. 408; 1987 a. 23.




