

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

July 7, 2015

To: Interested Parties – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 14-06, Petition to Amend Supreme Court Rules 22.001(2), 22.02(6)(c), 22.03(1), 22.25(3), and 22.25(4)

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 14-06 filed by the Office of Lawyer Regulation (OLR) on December 15, 2014. The petition proposes certain changes to chapter 22 of the supreme court rules relating to OLR discretion in attorney disciplinary matters. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm*.

Consistent with standard practice, the court has scheduled and will conduct a public hearing and an open conference on September 21, 2015, at 9:00 a.m., to discuss this matter further. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Circulate the rule petition for comment without a public hearing.
- (d) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (e) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (f) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by August 14, 2015, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. See comment guidelines at the court's website at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments by August 28, 2015.

If you are interested in appearing in person at the public hearing, please notify the Deputy Clerk for Rules by August 28, 2015, at *clerk@wicourts.gov* or 608-261-4302.

You might wish to consult the court's website at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at Post Office Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at (608) 261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attn: Keith Sellen, Director

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director **Board of Bar Examiners** Chief Circuit Court Judges Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Judges Diane M. Fremgen, Clerk of Supreme Court **Director of State Courts** Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Legal Action of Wisconsin Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Kimberly Walker, Executive Director Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel Shelley M. Fite, Local Attorney Manager, State Public Defender-Appellate Division State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Ralph M. Cagle, President Steven Levine, Attorney U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: DeAngela Luna Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Alice Rudebusch Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Pam Radtke Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: David Callender Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andy Cook Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Margaret Drees, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Micabil Diaz Martinez Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Executive Director Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Nancy Dowling Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: James I. Cardinal, Exec. Dir. Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Nancy Wettersten Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Amanda Rockmann, President

List of Additional Interested Parties – if any

Attorneys representing respondents in pending (and recent) OLR matters Board of Administrative Oversight, Attn: Rod W. Rogahn, Chair Current referees in the lawyer regulation system Preliminary Review Committee, Attn: Francis H. LoCoco, Chair Special Investigative Panel Members Special Preliminary Review Panel, Attn: Thomas A. Cabush, Chair