

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

May 1, 2018

To: Interested Persons – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 18-02, Administration of Judicial Conduct Advisory Committee

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 18-02 filed March 21, 2018, by the Honorable D. Todd Ehlers, Door County Circuit Court, in his capacity as Chair of the Judicial Conduct Advisory Committee (JCAC). The petition proposes amendment of a court rule in order to facilitate the JCAC's performance of its duties under Supreme Court Rule Chapter 60, Appendix A.(2). Currently, the JCAC is administered under the direction of a chair appointed by the Wisconsin Supreme Court. The proposed amendment would create a vice chair position, also appointed by the court, who would assume the responsibilities of the chair in the event the chair is unavailable. This proposal is intended to ensure the JCAC is able to respond to time sensitive requests for formal advisory opinions and informal advice when the chair is temporarily unavailable. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at *https://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm*.

At the closed rules conference on April 12, 2018, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments. The court will decide whether to conduct a public hearing on this petition after reviewing the written comments it receives. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by June 1, 2018, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioner may file any response to the comments by June 5, 2018.

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

You might wish to consult the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley Justice Daniel Kelly Judge D. Todd Ehlers, Chair, JCAC Judge Randy K. Koschnick, Director of State Courts Diane M. Fremgen, Deputy Director of Court Operations

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director **Board of Bar Examiners** Chief Circuit Court Judges Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Judges Deputy Directory of Court Operations, Diane Fremgen Court Operations, Marcia Vandercook Court Operations, Peggy Hurley Court Operations, Ann Olson Dean Dietrich, Attorney (Wausau) Diane Fremgen, Acting Clerk of Supreme Court Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy K. Koschnick Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Legal Action of Wisconsin Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Mike Gonring, Executive Director Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Paul G. Swanson, President Steven Levine, Attorney University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Rose Oswalk Poels, CEO Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Theresa Russell Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cain W. Oulahan Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Jody J. Bartels Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Jason Hanson Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Julie Kayartz Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: David Graves, Exec. Director Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Eugene White-Fish, President