

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

November 4, 2019

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 19-19, In the Matter of the Proposed Amendment to Wisconsin Statutes

§ 809.86 (Petitions for Review: Online access)

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 19-19 filed September 26, 2019, by Mark A. Neuser, Supreme Court Commissioner, on behalf of the State Bar of Wisconsin Appellate Practice Section Board (the "Board"). The petition asks the court to amend Wis. Stat. § 809.86, to allow online access to petitions for review on the Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Case Access website, in the same manner that appellate briefs are viewable online.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization potentially have an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

At the closed administrative rules conference on October 15, 2019, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing. The public hearing will be conducted on January 17, 2020. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.

¹ The Appellate Practice Section Board is presently comprised of the following members: Hon. Brian Blanchard, Atty. Frances Philomene Colbert, Atty. Joseph S. Diedrich, Atty. James Eric Goldschmidt, Atty. Amy Hetzner, Atty. Melissa Eleanor Love Koenig, Atty. Lisa M. Lawless, Atty. Anne-Louise T. Mittal, Comm. Mark A. Neuser, Atty. Aaron R. O'Neil, Atty. Eric G. Pearson, Atty. Jeremy C. Perri, Atty. Donald L. Romundson, Atty. Michelle L. Velasquez, and Atty. Donald J. Wall. Board member Atty. Clayton P. Kawski did not participate in this petition.

(d) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by December 2, 2019, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at https://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner may file any response to the comments by December 16, 2019.

You might wish to consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Daniel Kelly
Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet
Justice Brian K. Hagedorn
Mark A. Neuser, Supreme Court Commissioner

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director

Board of Administrative Oversight, Attention: Joseph M. Russell, Chair

Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Deputy Director of Court Operations, Diane M. Fremgen

Court Operations, Kat Carpenter

Court Operations, Ann Olson

Court Operations, Krista Miller

Dean Dietrich, Attorney

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy Koschnick

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Andrew C. Cook, Paige Scobee,

Rebecca Hogan and R.J. Pirlot

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: David Pifer, Executive Director

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Colleen Foley, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Terri Surita

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Jill M. Kastner, President

Steven Levine, Attorney

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jessica Butler

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Kris Cleven, Vice President-Legal

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Penny Carter

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jenni Kilpatrick, Executive Director

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cynthia Herber

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Samuel Christensen

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association
Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: Sandy Schueller
Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard
Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr.
Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Eugene White-Fish, President