

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

March 14, 2022

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 20-09A, In re Amendment of Wis. Stat. §§ 885.50, 885.52, 885.54, 885.56,

885.58, and 885.60, Relating to the Use of Videoconferencing Technology

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 20-09A, filed on January 21, 2022, by the Honorable John P. Anderson, Chair, Planning and Policy Advisory Committee (PPAC) Videoconferencing Subcommittee. This rule petition asks the court to amend the Wisconsin statutes noted above, pertaining to the use of videoconferencing technology.

On December 11, 2020, the Honorable Randy Koschnick, Director of State Courts filed rule petition 20-09 relating to location of court and use of videoconferencing technology. The court conducted a public hearing on April 7, 2021, via videoconference. On June 1, 2021, following extensive consideration, the court returned the petition to the petitioner, without action. See S. Ct. Order 20-09, issued June 1, 2021, at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/archive/2009.htm. In the petition now pending, the PPAC Videoconferencing Subcommittee elected to bring a subset of the proposed changes to this court for reconsideration. Therefore, this rule petition is not identical to rule petition 20-09 but it does present related proposed rule changes.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization potentially have an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending/index.htm.

At a closed conference on February 15, 2022, the court discussed this matter and voted to solicit public written comment.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by Tuesday, April 12, 2022 with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. See comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/process.htm*. The petitioner may file a response to the comments by Tuesday, April 26, 2022.

Rule No. 20-09A Page 2

Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for a public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

You might wish to consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending/index.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet
Justice Brian Hagedorn
Justice Jill J. Karofsky
Honorable John P. Anderson
Diane Fremgen, Deputy Director of State Courts,
Office of Court Operations

Rule No. 20-09A Page 3

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules

Badger State Sheriffs' Association, Attention: Executive Director

Board of Administrative Oversight, Attention: Lori S. Kornblum, Chair

Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Circuit Court Judges

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Court Operations: Diane M. Fremgen, Deputy Director for Court Operations Court Operations: Ann Olson, Krista Miller, Amber Peterson, Elizabeth Barroilhet

Dean Dietrich, Attorney

Department of Administration, State Prosecutors Office, Attention: Kasey Diess, Director

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy Koschnick

District Court Administrators

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Rebecca Hogan, R.J. Pirlot, Adam Jordahl

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: Deedee Peterson, Executive Director

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Colleen Foley, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney, Dean

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Timothy Samuelson, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Terri Surita

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Cheryl Furstace Daniels, President

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Daniel Tokaji, Dean

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock

Wisconsin Asian American Bar Association, Attention: Bryant Park

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Kris Cleven, Vice President-Legal

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Regina Kolbow, Carlo Esqueda

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jenni Kilpatrick, Executive Director;

Andrew Hebl, President

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Pamela M. Ritger

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Beth Ann Richlen, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: William C. Gleisner, III, Chair

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Samuel Christensen

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association

Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: Sandy Schueller

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr.

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gwendolyn Topping, President

Additional Interested Persons

Attorney Aaron Nelson

Anthony Anthony Jurek

Attorney Craig Johnson

Attorney Jeremiah W. Meyer-O'Day

Attorney Kate Drury

Attorney Catherine White

Attorney Chad Lanning

Aaron M. Raap

Brian A. Uhl

Christopher Botsch

Geri Segal

James Olson

Jennifer Dunn

Kristin M. Slonski

Ryan Milligan

Sarah M. Schmeiser

Nate Dreckman

Steve Anderson

Timothy J. Styka