About the courts

The judicial branch is one of three branches of government. It is responsible for interpreting the laws; the legislative branch makes the laws and the executive branch enforces the laws.

Each of the three levels of court in Wisconsin has a different function, but the entire court system shares a commitment to dispensing justice fairly, impartially, and according to the law. This is a cornerstone of our democracy.

Court system overview

Supreme Court

Court of Appeals

Circuit courts

Municipal courts

Administrative offices

Committees and boards

Court programs

Outreach and educational resources