Navigate this section

Committees and boards

Committee of Chief Judges

The Supreme Court appoints a chief judge for each of the nine judicial administrative districts (see map) to oversee administrative matters and is assisted by a district court administrator. The duties and authority of the chief judge is specified under SCR 70.19, 70.20 and 70.21 Adobe PDF. Each chief judge may serve up to three consecutive two-year terms. SCR 70.26 Adobe PDF authorizes a chief judge to appoint a deputy chief judge. The chief judges meet approximately seven times per year. As needed, the chief judges convene subcommittees to consider issues and problems facing the trial courts.

Questions about this committee? Contact Katherine Carpenter at the Office of Court Operations, (608) 267-7335.

The following is a list of the current chief judges, deputy chief judges, and district court administrators:

District One (Milwaukee County)
Chief Judge Maxine White
Deputy Chief Judge M. Joseph Donald
Deputy Chief Judge Mary E. Triggiano

District Court Administrator Holly Szablewski
Milwaukee County Courthouse
901 North 9th Street, Room 609
Milwaukee, WI 53233-1425
(414) 278-5115

District Two (Racine, Kenosha, and Walworth counties)
Chief Judge Jason A. Rossell
Deputy Chief Judge Timothy D. Boyle

District Court Administrator Louis Moore
Racine County Courthouse
730 Wisconsin Avenue
Racine, WI 53403-1274
(262) 636-3133

District Three (Dodge, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Washington, and Waukesha counties)
Chief Judge Jennifer R. Dorow
Deputy Chief Judge William Hue

District Court Administrator Michael Neimon
Waukesha County Courthouse
515 West Moreland Boulevard, Room C-359
Waukesha, WI 53188-2428
(262) 548-7209, (7210)

District Four (Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Manitowoc, Marquette, Sheboygan, Waushara, and Winnebago counties)
Chief Judge Barbara H. Key
Deputy Chief Judge John A. Jorgensen

District Court Administrator Jon Bellows
415 Jackson Street, Room 510
P.O. Box 2808
Oshkosh, WI 54903-2808
(920) 424-0027, (0028)

District Five (Columbia, Dane, Green, Lafayette, Rock, and Sauk counties)
Chief Judge William Hanrahan
Deputy Chief Judge Thomas Vale

District Court Administrator Theresa Owens
215 South Hamilton Street, Room 6111
Madison, WI 53703-3290
(608) 267-8820

District Seven (Adams, Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau, and Vernon counties)
Chief Judge Robert VanDeHey
Deputy Chief Judge Scott Horne

District Court Administrator Patrick Brummond
La Crosse County Law Enforcement Center
333 Vine Street, Room 3504
La Crosse, WI 54601-3296
(608) 785-9546

District Eight (Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, and Waupaca counties)
Chief Judge James Morrison
Deputy Chief Judge Carrie Schneider

District Court Administrator Thomas Schappa
414 East Walnut, Suite 221
Green Bay, WI 54301-5020
(920) 448-4280, (4281)

District Nine (Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, and Wood counties)
Chief Judge Gregory Huber
Deputy Chief Judge Jay Tlusty

District Court Administrator Susan Byrnes
2100 Stewart Avenue, Suite 310
Wausau, WI 54401
(715) 842-3872

District Ten (Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, and Washburn counties)
Chief Judge Maureen Boyle
Deputy Chief Judge John Anderson

District Court Administrator (Vacancy)
1101 Carmichael Road, Suite 1260
Hudson, WI 54016
(715) 245-4104

Back to top

Back to committees and boards