Law license reinstatement

attorney folio and penSupreme Court Rules provide different procedures for law license reinstatement depending upon the nature of the reinstatement and the length of the lapse in licensure. Information and forms relating to each procedure follow.

Transfer to active status

Supreme Court Rule 10.03(3)(b) provides procedures for lawyers to transfer from inactive to active status.

Inactive lawyers in good standing who have actively practiced law in Wisconsin during the last 10 years may change their classification to that of an active member by filing a request with the State Bar for transfer to the class of active members and by paying the dues required of active members.

Inactive lawyers who have not actively practiced in Wisconsin during the last ten years must file a request with the State Bar, file a copy of the request with BBE and OLR, and pay $200 to both BBE and OLR. Lawyers may pay OLR at the Office of Lawyer Regulation electronic fee payment page. OLR must investigate the request and submit a report to the Supreme Court. OLR asks lawyers requesting transfer to complete and submit with the copy of the request a completed Reinstatement Questionnaire – Inactive to Active MS Word.

Reinstatement from dues suspension

Supreme Court Rule 10.03(6m) provides procedures for reinstatement from suspensions for failure to pay dues.

Lawyers suspended for nonpayment of dues for a period of less than 3 consecutive years shall be reinstated as a member by the state bar board of governors upon full payment of the amount owing and an additional payment of $20 as a penalty. The State Bar shall certify the reinstatement to the clerk of the Supreme Court.

Lawyers suspended for nonpayment of dues for a period of three or more consecutive years must file a petition with the Supreme Court, serve a copy of the request on BBE and OLR, and pay $200 to both BBE and OLR. Lawyers may pay OLR at the Office of Lawyer Regulation electronic fee payment page. OLR must investigate the petition and submit a report to the Supreme Court. OLR asks lawyers petitioning for reinstatement to complete and submit with the petition a completed Reinstatement Questionnaire – Administrative MS Word.

Reinstatement from suspension for CLE noncompliance

Supreme Court Rule 31.11 provides procedures for reinstatement from suspensions for CLE noncompliance.

Lawyers suspended for a period of less than 3 consecutive years may file a petition with the BBE for reinstatement to membership in the state bar. Payment in the amount of $100 and any applicable late fee shall company the petition.

Lawyers suspended for a period of three or more consecutive years must file a petition with the Supreme Court, serve a copy of the petition on BBE and OLR, and pay $200 to both BBE and OLR. Lawyers may pay OLR at the Office of Lawyer Regulation electronic fee payment page. OLR must investigate the petition and submit a report to the Supreme Court. OLR asks lawyers petitioning for reinstatement to complete and submit with the petition a completed Reinstatement Questionnaire – Administrative MS Word.

Readmission after voluntary resignation of membership

Supreme Court Rule 10.03(7)(b) provides procedures for readmission after voluntary resignation. Lawyers must file a petition with the Supreme Court, file a copy of the petition with BBE and OLR, and pay $200 to both BBE and OLR. Lawyers may pay OLR at the Office of Lawyer Regulation electronic fee payment page. OLR must investigate the petition and submit a report to the Supreme Court. OLR asks lawyers petitioning for readmission to complete and submit with the petition a completed Reinstatement Questionnaire – Readmission Following Resignation MS Word.

Reinstatement from disciplinary suspension for less than six months

Supreme Court Rule 22.28(2) provides a lawyer suspended for misconduct for less than six months shall be reinstated upon filing an affidavit with OLR showing full compliance with the suspension order and Supreme Court Rule 22.26 and OLR's notification to the Supreme Court of the attorney's full compliance.

Reinstatement from revocation or disciplinary suspension for six months or more

Supreme Court Rule 22.28(3) provides a lawyer revoked or suspended for misconduct for six months or more shall be reinstated pursuant to procedures in SCR 22.29 to 22.33 and only by order of the Supreme Court.

Supreme Court Rule 22.29 provides the lawyer may file a petition for reinstatement with the Court (nine copies), serve a copy of the petition on BBE and OLR, and pay $200 payment to both BBE and OLR. Lawyers may pay OLR at the Office of Lawyer Regulation electronic fee payment page.

Petitions for reinstatement must include all the information required by SCR 22.29(4) (a) through (m). Petitioners must submit a completed Disciplinary Reinstatement Questionnaire to OLR with OLR's copy of the petition for reinstatement. SCR 22.29(4x).