Volume 3 | Issue 3 | April 2024

Justice Ann Walsh Bradley announces she will not seek fourth term

Justice Ann Walsh Bradley, who has served on the Wisconsin Supreme Court for nearly three decades, has announced that she will not seek re-election when her current term expires in 2025. Her tenure is the fifth-longest in the court's 177-year history.

Justice Ann Walsh Bradley

New Wisconsin laws aim to enhance judicial security measures

Three bipartisan bills the Wisconsin Supreme Court requested in response to threats of violence against judges were signed into law by Governor Tony Evers on March 27. Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Jill J. Karofsky was in attendance for the signing, as were Court of Appeals Judge Maria Lazar; St. Croix County Circuit Judge Scott Nordstrand, who serves as the vice chair of the Legislative Committee of the Judicial Conference; Karley Klein, Chief Legal Counsel in the Director of State Courts Office, and many others.

Gov. Evers signs the judicial security package into law

Spring election results: Meet the 12 new circuit court judges

In the recent election, voters across Wisconsin chose judges to represent their regions, including competitive races in ten circuit court branches. In total, 12 new judges will take their places on the bench. The winners of the Spring Election will start their new six-year terms on the first of August.

Vote button

Supreme Court appoints Genovese as District 5 Chief Judge

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has appointed Dane County Circuit Court Judge Julie Genovese as the new chief judge for the Fifth Judicial District, which covers Columbia, Dane, Green, Lafayette, Rock, and Sauk counties.

Hon. Julie Genovese

Racine County Judge Gasiorkiewicz named Trial Judge of the Year

Racine County Circuit Court Judge Eugene Gasiorkiewicz has been honored as the trial judge of the year by the Wisconsin chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates. Judge Gasiorkiewicz was selected from among 261 circuit court judges in the state for his outstanding work ethic, exceptional knowledge and evenhandedness in the courtroom.

Hon. Eugene Gasiorkiewicz

Judge Koss honored for Excellence in Teaching by UW Law School

The Honorable Phillip Koss has been recognized as the University of Wisconsin Law School's Adjunct Teacher of the Year. Judge Koss has served as a circuit court judge in Walworth County since 2012.

Hon. Phillip Koss was named UW Law School's Adjunct Teacher of the Year

Seasoned professional named new Seventh District Court Administrator

Anya Crossland has been named the seventh district's new District Court Administrator. In this role, she will analyze, recommend, and implement court management policies and procedures for the district, which serves 15 counties. Crossland brings 17 years of experience in public service, including public sector/court administration, fiscal management, employee and labor relations, policy development, and strategic planning.

Anya Crossland

Sheelah Guild promoted to Chief Deputy Clerk

Sheelah Guild was recently appointed the newest Chief Deputy Clerk at the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Clerk's Office. Guild began her career in 1999 and has worked diligently to earn this promotion.

Wisconsin State Capitol

Final gavel: Judges retire from the bench

This issue of Third Branch eNews features articles on the retirements of Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Ellen Brostrom and Green County Circuit Court Judge Thomas Vale.