Court of Appeals

The Court of Appeals is the state's intermediate appellate court. The court is composed of 16 judges from four districts headquartered in Milwaukee, Waukesha, Wausau, and Madison. (See the district map.)

The Wisconsin Supreme Court appoints the chief judge of the Court of Appeals. The chief judge handles administrative matters for the entire Court of Appeals while continuing to participate fully in deciding cases. The chief judge term lasts three years.

Each of the four districts of the Court of Appeals is managed by a presiding judge, appointed by the chief judge of the Court of Appeals. The presiding judges take on these additional duties for two-year terms.

Court of Appeals internal operating procedures Adobe PDF
Court of Appeals procedures for expedited appeals
Court of Appeals facsimile rules
ePayment for Court of Appeals fees

Use the navigation to the right explore the Court of Appeals.