Wisconsin Supreme Court accepts no new cases

Madison, Wisconsin - December 4, 2023

The Wisconsin Supreme Court recently voted not to accept any new cases, and the Court acted to deny review in a number of other cases. The case numbers, counties of origin and the issues presented in granted cases are listed below. More information about pending appellate cases can be found on the Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Access website. Published Court of Appeals opinions can be found here, and the status of pending Supreme Court cases can be found here.

No petitions were granted at the October 30, 2023 conference.

Review denied: The Supreme Court denied review in the following cases. As the state's law-developing court, the Supreme Court exercises its discretion to select for review only those cases that fit certain statutory criteria (see Wis. Stat. § 809.62). Except where indicated, these cases came to the Court via petition for review by the party who lost in the lower court:

Burnett County
2022AP535-CR State v. Neumann

Clark County
2021AP1594-CR State v. Ruzic
2022AP260 State v. Utecht

Dane County
2022AP676 Adams Outdoor Advertising Limited Partnership v. Wis. DOT

Fond du Lac County
2022AP1170-CR State v. Allen

Grant County
2020AP1792 State v. Henderson

Jefferson County
2022AP1522-CR State v. Smiley
2022AP2001-CR  State v. Westrich

Kenosha County
2020AP758-CRNM State v. Daniels
2022AP1478 State v. Thompson

Marinette County
2023AP1293-W Plemel v. Wisconsin [Supervisory Writ]

Milwaukee County
2020AP1995-CR State v. Wilke
2020AP1150-CR  State v. Phillips
2021AP1083-CR State v. Socha [Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet dissents; Justice Janet C. Protasiewicz did not participate]
2021AP1225-CR State v. Fluker
2021AP1288-CR State v. Gilmer [Justice Janet C. Protasiewicz did not participate]
2021AP1539-CR State v. Brown
2021AP1705-CR State v. Tung
2021AP1818-CR State v. Randhawa
2021AP1881 Hodges v. Chernin
2021AP1936-CR State v. Anderson [Justice Janet C. Protasiewicz did not participate]
2021AP2126-CR State v. Hulbert
2022AP16-CR State v. Warren
2022AP118-CR State v. Handel
2022AP357-CR State v. Gates
2022AP444-CR State v. Miller
2022AP449-CR State v. Booker
2022AP638-CR State v. Moore
2022AP744-CR State v. Williams
2022AP809-CR State v. Wilks
2022AP678-CR State v. Brooks
2023AP172-W Luckett v. Noble
2023AP1256-W Grady v. Fuchs [Writ of Habeas Corpus]

Outagamie County
2022AP223-CR State v. Dorton
2023AP145-CRLV State v. Dunay

Ozaukee County
2021AP957-CR State v. Socha [Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet dissents; Justice Janet C. Protasiewicz did not participate]

Racine County
2021AP294-CR State v. Gray
2022AP383 State v. Brown

Rock County
2022AP511 State v. Humphrey

Sauk County
2022AP365 McGhee v. McGhee

Sheboygan County
2022AP1587-CR State v. Baker

Vernon County
2021AP161-CR State v. Peterson

Vilas County
2022AP720 Meessmann v. Town of Presque Isle [Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley dissents]

Walworth County
2021AP1210-CR State v. Leblanc
2023AP1424-W Gardipee v. Circuit Court of Walworth County [Supervisory Writ]

Waukesha County
2021AP726-CR State v. Bayerl
2022AP1555-CR State v. Kahle
2022AP1628-CR State v. Moon

Waushara County
2023AP659-W Morris v. Christensen
2023AP1406-W Hurtado v. Wisconsin [Writ of Habeas Corpus]

Winnebago County
2021AP1104-CRNM State v. Hall
2022AP411-CR State v. Jones
2022AP2078 Winnebago County v. T.G.
2023AP858 State v. Meyers [Petition to Bypass]

Back to current headlines